Long distance reception question.

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by spacenerd, Aug 8, 2017.

  1. edisonprime

    edisonprime SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,632
    Likes Received:
    319
    Location:
    55901
    Kind of off-topic, but where did you "move" to? I'm in Rochester, MN and "moved" to Durand, WI to get the Twin Cities, MN and La Crosse, WI with my DirecTV account.
     
  2. *** WELCOME TO SATELLITEGUYS! ***
  3. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Former C-Band nerd
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,338
    Likes Received:
    1,600
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    St Louis. I'm in Kansas but the St Louis spot beam is pretty large.
     
  4. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Former C-Band nerd
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,338
    Likes Received:
    1,600
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    He has a VHF-HI station in Lima and one in Ft Wayne. Everything else (Dayton, Columbus) is UHF
     
  5. Larry1

    Larry1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,508
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Port Hope, ON Canada
    Are you using a pre-amp or an amp after the signals are combined? If after, a pre-amp will amplify the signals before the loss of the cable and combination of the 3 antennas. Best try for that channel is your top one (if the channel is in the UHF frequency) with a pre-amp (use a high quality low noise. be cautious as some will provide no better reception due to noise) and keep it separate from the other antennas. Also, are there any trees in the area? Need to get above the trees for best reception. Remember trees grow..... in our area fast with this and last summer, (a lot of rain).
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  6. Tampa8

    Tampa8 I'll Stand Up and Say So
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    14,511
    Likes Received:
    4,110
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    I have no respect for someone who hasn't "Moved" at least once... LOL Kidding but you get the idea.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  7. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    12,983
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    This can be a difficult task since you have to power all of the preamps. I suppose you could try one of the all legs powered splitters, but you would have to come up with a single inserter that could power the lot or bring all three cables inside and combine them inside the home after stuffing in the inserters.

    After all of that is done, there's still the exceedingly weak two-edge signal that may only make it under the best of atmospheric conditions.
     



***

Separate names with a comma.

More...