Looking for information

Status
Please reply by conversation.

ted192

Original poster
May 24, 2011
Hello out there. I've been messing about with a k band dish and receiver for several years now. It seems like there is less and less programming worth watching there. I found a 9-12 foot dish for c band but it will need some work and money to get it into a workable condition. Is there any programming on c band worth spending time and money to get this dish planted and operating? Should I lean towards digital or analog? Thanks

:welcome to Satellitguys ted192
C Band ROCKS! (IMHO) Check the C band list that Mike has at MPEG2 Central
PICTURES (We LOVE) Post up some pictures and get our experienced opinions.
NOTE: think you;ll need 5 or 10 posts until you can post them here, Use a photo sharing site till then, Oh links are also not possible till then. so make links www(dot)wherever@com/the link or such.
There's no reason to lean to analog today, it's all digital, with quite a few DVB-S2, h264, AAC

Reactions: danristheman
Lots of programming on C band,but it depends on what you are interested in.I am assuming you are in the USA?

First, there are tons of Spanish language channels,a few of which have English secondary audio.I receive 500 or more Spanish channels on my 10 ft dish, covering 55W to 127W only.There are a few more Sats to either extreme that I can't reach yet
As for English channels,I get maybe 150 channels.(Not counting channels that I have removed due to lack of interest) Many are channels that one can get with an Over-The-Air antenna IF they live near a large metropolitan area.Grit TV,MeTV,Ion,Movies,Network affiliates,etc.A few foreign channels from Japan,China,Russia that are in English.Some religious channels and some shopping channels as well.That's not to mention the occasional feeds that open up from time to time.
There are some radio channels if you are interested in that.