1. Another Team Summit in the books!

    Thanks to the generosity of a number of our members SatelliteGuys will be covering DISH Networks Team Summit Event from Phoenix, Arizona!

    CLICK HERE for our Team Summit 2019 Coverage!

    CLICK HERE to see our 2019 DISH Team Summit Recap Video! Thanks for being part of SatelliteGuys!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

LTE filters and the current repack

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by Geronimo, May 14, 2019.

  1. Geronimo

    Geronimo Topic Starter Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    11,563
    Likes Received:
    1,144
    About 18 months ago I added an LTE filter to my OTA setup and it made a significant difference. My area is scheduled to repack with Phase 4. I assume that a new filter would be needed as cell carriers will take over the frequencies above 37. Does anyone know if such filters will soon be available ---or am i wrong about the need for new ones.
     
  2. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    4,119
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Tower Guy and k.r. like this.
  3. twhy08

    twhy08 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Watertown, SD
    Is there a difference between the LPF-600 in the post above and the Channel Master CM-3201?
     
  4. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    4,119
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Yes, their filter only filters up in the 700Mhz range. After repack, LTE stuff will move as far down as 600Mhz~. So you need a filter that'll go that low. Their filter will NOT, the LPF-600 WILL.
     
    Tower Guy likes this.
  5. Geronimo

    Geronimo Topic Starter Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    11,563
    Likes Received:
    1,144
    Be careful though. If you use such a filter before the repack is complete in your area you will lose stations on RF 38 to 51.
     
    N5XZS, Tower Guy and primestar31 like this.
  6. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    4,119
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Yes, do NOT install this filter before your repack is complete, OR if you have channels above RF36.
     
    Tower Guy likes this.
  7. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,933
    Likes Received:
    1,987
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    It seems unlikely to me that there will be any LTE in the 600MHz band unless AT&T does something monumentally stupid.
     
  8. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    4,119
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Maybe it won't be "LTE" but it's going to be something since tv is all being moved off anything above channel RF36, and present tv antennas and tv sets are or could be affected by it if you are close enough to the towers.

    Personally, I doubt it'll affect too many people, but we don't know as of yet. Until then, the LPF-600 filter is a viable filter readily available right now for this purpose.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  9. Trip

    Trip RabbitEars Webmaster
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Posts:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    506
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, US
    T-Mobile is already operating LTE in 600 MHz.

    - Trip
     
    ncted, FTA4PA and Tower Guy like this.
  10. N5XZS

    N5XZS SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    501
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    Being in Albuquerque metro areas is heavy rf noise floor coming from the Sandia Crest Mountain and on within the city's limit is pretty bad.

    It's starting to fill up 600 to 800 MHz band fairly quickly.:rolleyes:

    We are no longer a mid sized US city and sadly lack of US major sports teams.

    Sorry I may be off track on rf radio noise floor pollution.:p

    Albuquerque is going though growing pain right now.:rolleyes:
     
  11. Geronimo

    Geronimo Topic Starter Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    11,563
    Likes Received:
    1,144

    In my ase i currently receive both DC and baltimore stations. Aft er the DC repack is done in a few months i will either have to give up the baltimore stations (or some of them) or just live with interference on the DC stations until Baltimore competes their repack
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...