moving: advice on multi plexers

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by Atheist Peace, Aug 18, 2019.

  1. Atheist Peace

    Atheist Peace Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    ohio
    I am moving and for reasons I can not use movers connection. so I am moving my dish and spliters my self. I have a dish with 4 outputs to the house. inside I have 2 multi plexers. one is a zinwell and I believe it uses 2 cables to each receiver. and I have a swim that takes a power lead and i believe only requires 1 run to each receiver. I only need 3 DVRs at the new location but I really only want to run 1 line to each. how do I wire my receivers? . will i still need both?
     
  2. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,962
    Likes Received:
    11,167
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    :welcome to Satelliteguys Atheist Peace!

    Get a swm lnb. It has one output that runs to a swm four way splitter where you can connect one cable to each receiver. You also need to connect the power inserter which must be on the power passing port of the splitter to the dish.
     
    Jimbo likes this.
  3. Atheist Peace

    Atheist Peace Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    ohio
    i was hoping to not have to buy any new equipment
     
  4. Atheist Peace

    Atheist Peace Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    ohio
    do I need a swm 3 or a swm 5? or do you need a picture of the dish? it looks like the swm 5 to me
     
  5. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,962
    Likes Received:
    11,167
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Get a swm 3. The need for a swm 5 is going away.
     
  6. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,962
    Likes Received:
    11,167
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    You can get the swm 3 lnb and a four way swm splitter for under $50. Check eBay.
     
  7. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    And I'd recommend it be a Reverse Band capable SWM 3 LNB as well for future-proofing.

    Sent from my LM-V405 using Tapatalk
     
    raoul5788 likes this.
  8. Atheist Peace

    Atheist Peace Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    ohio
    I am not nor am i ever planning on doing genie.. does that matter?
     
  9. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    475
    Location:
    IA
    It still makes sense to get the reverse band LNB, that will give you the simple one coax per DVR wiring you want and access to all of Directv's channels even those you may never want to watch like Spanish or international channels. You may never need reverse band but it can't hurt to have it even if you don't watch anything delivered on it.
     
  10. Atheist Peace

    Atheist Peace Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    ohio
    OK my son in law speaks Spanish so does my daughter to some degree at this point.
     
  11. Atheist Peace

    Atheist Peace Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    ohio
  12. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    60,862
    Likes Received:
    2,731
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
  13. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    The second offer marked "XPEEVO" with the Slimline-3 RB LNB is better.

    The 5 LNB RB in the first offer there is actually the one I have. And it's really a waste today.

    As 110 is dead now and since 119 is being phased out. Your receiver firmware is now programmed to ignore virtually everything coming from the satellite there and automatically default to receiving the RB at 99 where almost all of 119's programming is mirrored now.

    Sent from my LM-V405 using Tapatalk
     
  14. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Actually they're both SWiMLNBs , but only the second SL-3RB type is necessary nowadays ...

    Sent from my LM-V405 using Tapatalk
     
  15. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    60,862
    Likes Received:
    2,731
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Your right, I mis read it ....
    I saw Slimline and missed the SWM 5.

    To the OP, still take the second option.
     
  16. Atheist Peace

    Atheist Peace Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    ohio
    i already ordered the 2nd one. hope it fits the arm on my disd
     
  17. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,962
    Likes Received:
    11,167
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    It will.
     
  18. Atheist Peace

    Atheist Peace Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    ohio
    OK that showed up fast.. now where do i wire in the power unit? between the dish and the splitter? or after the spitter?
     
    #19 Atheist Peace, Aug 22, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2019
  19. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Either location ...

    Just make sure the PI is indoors somewhere as it's not weatherproof.

    And if placed after the splitter, is someplace on the coax run to the red colored power passing port.

    Sent from my LM-V405 using Tapatalk
     
    Atheist Peace and harshness like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...