Native mode.

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by rusc, Oct 22, 2018.

  1. rusc

    rusc Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Columbia SC
    Who all has this turned on? I was getting judder and picture jumping on ESPN during football games. I turned native on and it seemed to have stopped. Anyone know details about native?


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  2. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    59,347
    Likes Received:
    2,139
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    I can never remember which is which, but one way lets the recvr do the processing, while the other passes the info thru the recvr directly to the TV, so if your TV has the better processor thats the way you'll want to go ...
    If you set it up so the recvr just passes the info it takes longer to change channels ... (lot of people don't like that) as the recvr and the TV both do the work.

    One of the others will come in with a better explanation.
     
    rusc likes this.
  3. ejb1980

    ejb1980 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Vermont
    Native on: your receiver and TV will switch to the native resolution that the channel is broadcast on. Example: If you're watching ESPN, Fox, etc. it will be in 720p. If you're watching NBC, Discovery, etc it will be in 1080i. If you're watching an SD channel, the interface will be displayed SD, if you have 480i or p checked. When changing between channels of different resolution, it will take it an extra second or three to change and everything will go black during that time. Some will say that it produces a better picture, but that is very unlikely that they can actually see any difference. It is very unlikely that there even is a difference.

    Native off: Everything is "upscaled" to 1080i and channel changes go smoother. That is the only difference. If you go to channel 125, 1117, or download something in 1080p, it still treats it like native is on and will switch to 1080p. Again, not that there is much, if any, of a difference. It's just easier to leave it off, I suppose unless you're a deep pureist, unless you've found something here with the judder......

    As for the reduction of judder, I guess it's possible that you'd see it less with one vs. the other, but I don't know enough about that to know for sure. I wouldn't be surprised. I'll try it myself if that seems to happen for me.
     
    rusc likes this.
  4. I WANT MORE

    I WANT MORE SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Posts:
    334
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    "Middle of Nowhere"
    Native ON Always.
     
  5. longhorn23

    longhorn23 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Rowlett, TX
    How does native on and native off work when you're watching 4k programming? Thanks for your help.

     
  6. Thelucky1

    Thelucky1 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Great state of Texas
    Same!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
    I WANT MORE likes this.
  7. ejb1980

    ejb1980 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Vermont
    Native on is only for the hardcare pureists who think they see a difference or want it to be displayed in the true resolution, for whatever reason. There really is no difference in quality and the delay in channel changes is too annoying. How anyone can leave it "on" is beyond me. I don't know how it works from experience, but I would assume that it would work like 1080p and it would change to 4k regardless if you have it on or off.
     
  8. Thelucky1

    Thelucky1 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Great state of Texas
    Simply personal preference!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  9. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    59,347
    Likes Received:
    2,139
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    IF, they could do away with the lag on changing channels I would use my Native mode so that the TV technology does the work, but I don't like the delay in changing channels.
     
  10. I WANT MORE

    I WANT MORE SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Posts:
    334
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    "Middle of Nowhere"
    That will be changing with HDMI 2.1.
     
    Jimbo likes this.
  11. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    421
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    IA
    What does HDMI 2.1 do to prevent that? Even if it does something to help speed up the resolution adjustment on a TV when the source changes, you'd need HDMI 2.1 on both sides to make it work. Since 4Kp120 4:2:0 10bpp only needs about 15 Gbps, I don't think we are going to see any HDMI 2.1 Directv gear. Unless you think there will ever be 8K broadcasts, which IMHO is a fantasy.
     
  12. dishrich

    dishrich SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    3,205
    Likes Received:
    287
    Location:
    Springfield, IL
    Many people with DVR's DON'T "change channels", because we DVR everything, so that we can watch on OUR terms (ie: watch what/when we want, skip commercials, etc.) & let our DVR's that we're paying for, do the work of "changing channels"; therefore we don't care about "channel change" times, which aren't THAT bad anyway for the rare occasions to do as such. ALWAYS Native ON here, except for the stupid E* receivers that never had sense enough to offer this. :rolleyes:
     
  13. ejb1980

    ejb1980 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Vermont
    You still change channels when you change shows on your DVR....

    Sent from my SM-G920V using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  14. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,242
    Likes Received:
    2,306
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    First of all I believe in native being set to on.

    The only real time you get a delay in channel is when the resolution changes from standard to HD or vice versa.

    But it’s worth it considering so many issues that native resolution resolves
     
    dishrich likes this.
  15. dishrich

    dishrich SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    3,205
    Likes Received:
    287
    Location:
    Springfield, IL
    Whatev...the (very) small delay is STILL not a big deal for many people; matter of fact, if the native setting was actually mandatory, the majority of viewers would not even give it a thought.
    But that's what's great about at least having the choice...you can still have it so you're saving yourself that precious couple of extra seconds that is just "too annoying" to deal with.
     
  16. texasbrit

    texasbrit SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3,501
    Likes Received:
    284
    What issues? Unless you have a scalewr in the TV that is visually better then the directv box I can see no point in having native set to "on', except possibly for 4K TVs. See Think again about DIRECTV's "Native mode." - The Solid Signal Blog
     
  17. I WANT MORE

    I WANT MORE SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Posts:
    334
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    "Middle of Nowhere"
  18. ejb1980

    ejb1980 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Vermont
    Flip back and forth between a game on CBS and Fox and tell me how fast those extra seconds add up.
     
  19. texasbrit

    texasbrit SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3,501
    Likes Received:
    284
    But why??
     
  20. Marcingak

    Marcingak SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    NJ
    Native off for me. I don't notice any difference in picture quality and the lag when changing channels with native on is unbearable.
     
    whitewolf8214 and ejb1980 like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...