Need help with Pages on a Mac..

smokey982

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 7, 2005
Cleveland, TN (Chattanooga Market)
I'm still learning new things everyday about my new Mac, but now I'm stumped again. I created a word document using Pages and everything was easy. It was very similiar to Microsoft Word. But I saved the file and sent it out in an email, and nobody can open the file. I sent a copy to my work PC and it came as a .pages document. What did I do wrong? Is there a process I missed to make it a pdf or doc file?

I don't use pages, but Macs generally will use an export menu to convert file formats. Is there an export selection under file?

If not try save as... Microsoft uses that model for file conversion and since they are trying to emulate MS, they may have used that model as well.

If all else fails, try printing the document and select create PDF from the print dialog.

I don't remember seeing an export selection under file. I'll have to check it out when I get home this afternoon. That's a good idea on printing to PDF, I wish I had thought of that last night.

I really like the Mac. But you would think they could make things like this a little easier for newbies.

I don't remember seeing an export selection under file. I'll have to check it out when I get home this afternoon. That's a good idea on printing to PDF, I wish I had thought of that last night.

I really like the Mac. But you would think they could make things like this a little easier for newbies.

They are not encouraging you to use word. :) But there is an export function to save as Word docs

Well, MS Word will open a number of formats, such as .TXT (text only), .RTF (standard rich text format), .htm and .html (web page), .ODT (open office), .wri (windows write), .wpd (wordperfect) and .WPS (MS Works). If you can get to any of those places, you can import on the PC.