Newbie here - question about basic setup

Status
Please reply by conversation.

mamahen

Original poster
Jan 4, 2011
NC, USA
Hi everyone. I'm new and looking for an FTA setup that will pick up the Galaxy 19 satellite. We only want to watch GLC, and maybe 1 other channel. Right now we watch locals only with an OTA HD antenna and DTVPal DVR combo.

Here's the wishlist:

• it only needs to pickup Galaxy 19
  • PVR ready or the like... we want to record stuff
  • we need to be able to continue to record the local channels we currently receive. If the satellite system could pick up locals, too, that would be awesome... otherwise I guess I'll have to live with 2 contraptions on the roof :)
  • Access to a decent program guide would be fantastic, especially for the local channels. The program guide we have now is abysmal.
We also currently own 2 satellite dishes from previous installations (dish 500 round with no lnb and d-tv 'slimline' elliptical with SL5 lnb). Would it be possible (and simple) to use/modify one of these, or should we just buy a new dish?

Bottom line is that I'm looking for the cheapest, simplest setup to watch and record GLC. If it will do the locals as well, so that hubby can take down the HD antenna, great. If not, we'll just leave that one up (but want to make sure the new PVR will record stuff from that antenna).

Thank you so much for the help!

Mama Hen

Checkout ww.glorystar.tv or click on the eBay link in the signature below. These systems are provided for people interested in receiving the free Christian channels on Galaxy19 and with no previous satellite experience. They are provided with excellent step by step instructions, aiming coordinates and one year unlimited telephone support. If you do not feel comfortable installing the system, browse www.ftainstall.com to locate a local installer.