No more Andrew (channel master) polar mounts any more for 1.2m

Status
Please reply by conversation.

rd100

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Sep 6, 2006
Wales, UK
I am a satellite engineer and live in the united kingdom I asked Andrew channel master why they stoped makeing the polar mounts for the 1.8m & why they have now stoped makeing them now for the 1.2m

Here is the email i had back from andrew corp.

Dear Sir,

From a consumer point of view it is hard to understand why products are discontinued.
The Satcom product line evolves over the years as we see the trends change.
We have decided to drop the polar mount option as the sales to not warrant the manufacturing of this unique item.
We have tried over the years to eliminate the welding from our manufacturing process. This is one of the few items in our line that still requires welding.
Due to low sales volume and the push to eliminate welding from our Smithfield North Carolina manufacturing site, we have decided to drop this from our product line.

It has been my understanding that there are a few aftermarket companies that manufacture polar mounts that fit our reflectors. These are popular in the UK, and you may inquire about such product offerings from an outside source.

Regards,
Dwayne Pilkington
Andrew Corporation
Product Analyst
VSAT/DTH

When I moved to the US I bought my Channel Master 1.2m dish with its motorized polar mount with me.