korean programming

Status
Please reply by conversation.

sunelec

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Oct 24, 2006
Jackson, Michigan
I am interested in getting the kisb channels on IA5 satellite. Are they FTA like lyngsat says or are they encoded with viaccess? Should I buy an FTA receiver with viaccess embedded and if so which receiver is recommended? I am new at this and I am just looking at buying equipment
as a first step.

Sometimes they are and sometimes they're not. Just keep in mind, that they are supposed to be encrypted. The company that does these channels on IA5 is Globecast. They will not allow a 3rd party embedded access receiver to subscribe to there programming, so it's pointless to get one in this part of the world. But, you can get there equipment, found here:
http://www.sadoun.com/Sat/Order/Satellite-systems/Globecast-Systems.htm
and subscribe to there programming. Or you can get a FTA DVB receiver and take your chances, like most of us seem to do.

Al

KISB comes and goes very often as FTA. It may not be guaranteed to be available free all the time.

Any receiver will work for IA-5. But for real FTA hobby, you will need a receiver with Blindscan.

Thanks for the info . I was already aware of what you say about Globecast. I've talked to them on the phone and I think their receiver is inferior. I have also talked directly to kisb ( IA5) and tantv ( AMC4) . I can get either one with free equipment with a one or two year contract. They both use either an Opentech ods4000v receiver, Humax va3210 receiver or sometimes a Finepass receiver. All would get FTA as well as their own programming. IF I have my own receiver tantv said they would sell me a smart card for their viaccess system for $25 and then bill $27.50 per month. I don't know if kisb would do this, I will have to call them again and ask. I am planning on just having a stationary dish