no satellite signal with direct tv slimline dish!!

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

bubz420

Original poster
Dec 9, 2010
california
i have the slimline 5s(swm) all settings are set to my area (azim, elev, tilt). I have a hd h24-200 receiver. Satellite is mounted sturdy and level. the single line is going from the dish to a dc power pass. out to just the one reciever. i am new to this so i was wondering if i had something wrong with the configuration. any replies would be greatly appriciated as i have not had cable tv in a month.

i cant find tune the dish because the receiver wont locate a signal at all. i have all zeros on all transponders. is their something special you have to do with the dc power pass spliter?is my config correct? i am lost!

Are you pointing the dish at the 101 satellite?

BTW, :welcome to Satelliteguys!

If the mast is plumb and the tilt and elevations are set according to your location you should be able to move the azimuth until you get some signal on 101.
Then adjust from there.

You have to have your power inserter to work. You need to go from the dish to you splitter then through your power inserter into the receiver. With just one receiver there realy is no need for a spitter. Just go from dish to ground block to power inserter to receiver.

my friend gave me the dish when he moved and i thought the receiver powered the dish. could you explain where the 21v power inserter goes. that is probably what i am missing and why i am getting no signal at all.