Noob here and I got Some Questions about Local HD

Joseph4200

Original poster
Sep 18, 2006
Hi guys I'm new here. A friend told me about this site and said i should sign up. Anyways I'm a total noob for when i comes to satellite programming and I got some questions...

Ok I'm moving to a new house in Midland Georgia in th eMuscogee side. Its right next to Columbus GA. My new area code is 31820.

When I check for available local channels on dish network.com with my are code it states that i cannot receive any.

I talked with a CSR and he stated that I would have to get a signed waiver from all the local stations in the area in order to receive locals from bigger cities like Atlanta. I talked with a couple station engineers, one from fox and the other from ABC and they both said i live to close and that i would never get a signed waiver. This really bums me out.

Is there anyway I can get HD Locals? Do i have to use an seperate Antenna?

I dont think I could go without my Lost and the ATL. Falcons especially in HD.

I have 2 HDTV's one is a samsung 50 in DLP and its not HD ready but i did just get an Olevia LT37HVS and it states thats it has HD built in and is HD ready.

So could i use an OTA Antenna to pick up my locals on just the one Tv? Is so does dish network make an Antenna that will connect to the satellite?

Like I said before I'm a strait noob to the satellite industry and should could use all the help I can get.

go to antennaweb.org. you can enter your address and see what channels you can pick up with an over the air antenna. You can buy your own antenna, I use the channel master 4228 with the channel master 7777 pre-amp, and hook it up to the dish box. You then go to system setup, locals, add locals, and either let it scan or enter them yourself. hope this helps.