Noob with diseqc 1.1 8x1 switch with Viewsat Extreme (diseqc 1.2 only)

Status
Please reply by conversation.

cracklincrotch

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 28, 2007
Halifax, Nova Scotia
I'm a newbie to FTA but I've been wanting to get into FTA for a while. I finally jumped in a week ago by getting a T90, five linear LNBs, a 8x1 diseqc 1.1 switch, Viewsat Extreme, and a Birdog v3. I'm aimed at 83, 87, 93, 97, and 123.

Got the dish all lined up pretty quick with the Birdog. Hooked up the LNBs to the 8x1 switch and the switch to the Viewsat. I went under the motor control to find the ports on the switch as described in other posts here on satguys. But all I get is an S and Q bouncing between 0% and 100% and the receiver never locks on a signal.

I also read somewhere that a 1.1 switch will respond as a 1.0 switch for the first four ports but the Viewsat and Birdog still don't see anything through the switch.

Anybody have any suggestions as to what I might be doing incorrectly or what to double check?

The first 4 ports will act like a regular diseqc switch. I have a 8x1 diseqc and it works just fine for all my receivers like that

I had some issues on my Pansat 1500 and Fortec setting up the 8x1 via the motor. I ended up giving up.

For more than 4 LNB's you could do a couple options
-one diseqc and a 22k. Put the 22k on one input of the diseqc
-for more than 5 LNB's get a ecoda 22k switch which passes diseqc commands and then use 2 4x1 diseqc switches. That is how I use 8 LNB's on my Coolsat 8000 :)

Have you tried each LNB straight into the receiver bypassing any switches to check signal quality on each one (and do a blind scan on each)?