Old 6' Winegard f/d setup Question

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

crazyshaned

Original poster
Oct 15, 2016
Wisconsin
Hey guys, I've been lurking here for a while now, I figured that it was time to join up and say hello!

I've been tinkering with FTA for a couple years, ku and Cband stuff. I really appreciate the advice and the good work you guys do.

I've come across something of an odd duck. It's an old Winegard 6' aluminum mesh dish. When I picked it up, it even had an old hand crank mover on it.

Anyway, I got it mounted and plumbed up, put a linear actuator on it that I control with a Diseqc box, and I swapped out the old lnb with a new Titanium Sat C/KU setup.

When I fit the new lnb, I tried to keep the positioning the same as the one I removed.

After several hours of blindscanning on my Linkbox 8000hd, I was able to find a few transponders, but no channels.

I then saw a post here where someone made a scalar from an old aluminum worklight reflector. I duplicated the design and was immediately able to pick up the Lesea feeds with 98s and 66q.

At this point I decided to calculate my f/d and see if my lnb placement was off.

My dish is 72" in diameter.
If I run a straightedge across it, it measures 16" deep from the center.

So, if I did this right, F= (72 ×72) / (16 × 16) or 20.25"

If F/d is really F / d or 20.25/72 I get .28125, did I do that correctly?

When I measured my current lnb placement, it was at 25" from the center of the dish.

I've tried moving the lnb closer to the center and I lost all channels. If I remove the worklight scalar, I lose all channels.