1. System Upgrade THIS SUNDAY!

    This Sunday SatelliteGuys will be upgrading its forum software to the new 2.x version. The work to upgrade will take a few hours. Work is expected to start early Sunday Morning. For more details please visit our Operations Center Forum

    Thank you for your support!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

Old broadcast towers

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by freeisforme, Oct 14, 2019.

  1. freeisforme

    freeisforme Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Posts:
    87
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    south jersey
    What happens to the old broadcast towers when a station upgrades? Refurbished for other markets, trashed, sold over seas.
     
  2. TheKrell

    TheKrell A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV. Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    25,389
    Likes Received:
    18,292
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    That is a good question. The former location of MHz networks was on a tower right next to the Washington Beltway, as well as a second tower a bit further south. They shut off broadcast TV at both towers on April 1 of last year. The tower next to the Washington Beltway is still there and (I presume) supporting other broadcasters. I do not believe any TV station broadcasts from there.
     
    freeisforme likes this.
  3. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    23,145
    Likes Received:
    4,842
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    Most towers have multiple stations...as in radio and tv

    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  4. freeisforme

    freeisforme Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Posts:
    87
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    south jersey
    Im sorry. I should have said the old TV broadcast "antennas" not towers. There are some videos on you tube showing the old coming down and the new ones going up.
     
  5. cmcgrail

    cmcgrail SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I recall reading somewhere that some antennas are able to be re-tuned to the new frequency. I came across this video of a helicopter being used to install a new antenna while looking for that article.
    Our new broadcast antenna is online!
     
  6. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,729
    Likes Received:
    2,364
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    The range of channels that an antenna can be tuned to generally isn't that large and with the frequencies taking big hops in wavelength, there's not much use for a lot of the old higher frequency ones.
     
    freeisforme and charlesrshell like this.
  7. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,364
    Likes Received:
    3,213
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    So no need in an updated antenna, right?
     
  8. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,729
    Likes Received:
    2,364
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    I'm not sure what you're asking.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  9. N5XZS

    N5XZS SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,552
    Likes Received:
    697
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    I guess they do it by automatic antenna tuner or they have to do the manually tune the antenna?:rolleyes:
     
  10. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,364
    Likes Received:
    3,213
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Sorry harshness, I thought this thread was talking about the repack and NextGen ATSC 3.0. But while I got your attention, do you know if ATSC 3.0 will require an updated OTA antenna?
     
  11. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,729
    Likes Received:
    2,364
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    That depends uniquely on what the frequencies will be for the new stations. I'm told that they will be the same post-repack DTV frequencies that we're looking at now and they'll create new stations to lighthouse the DTV channels (packed very, very tightly). If your antenna works post-repack, it should work if and when Next Gen TV becomes the US broadcast TV standard.

    The technology required to capture TV signals hasn't changed the advent of color TV (UHF was enabled in conjunction with color TV in 1952) and it won't change with Next Gen TV unless Single Frequency Network (SFN; a sophisticated cell-like technology using TV frequencies) becomes a thing. What has changed over the years is that the TV bands used to go from 44MHz to 88MHz (VHF low), 174MHz to 216MHz (VHF high) and 470MHz to 900MHz (UHF) and after the repack it gets capped at 608MHz.

    This may bring some changes to basic design of future antennas (since the high frequencies are useless for TV reception) but it won't change what your existing antenna can (or cannot) receive.

    I guess it bears repeating: NTSC, DTV and Next Gen TV don't use different reception antenna technologies. The signals will continue to be linearly polarized. HD and "digital" antennas were a marketing ploy to sell new antennas (whereas "color" antennas added a new band).
     
    TheKrell and charlesrshell like this.
  12. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,364
    Likes Received:
    3,213
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    OK. Thanks harshness
     
  13. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,729
    Likes Received:
    2,364
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Huh? I was under the impression that antennas were tuned by physically changing their length (because loading isn't efficient).

    Since some of the new setups are requiring arrays (especially in densely populated areas) where the coverage area needs to be "shaped".
     
  14. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    1,091
    Location:
    85w
    WFFT and WISE in Fort Wayne Indiana are adding new towers and transmitter. Wfft is going to 550,000 watts from a million watts. From channel 36 to 20. Trip both stations above have 2 transmitters do you know why this is?
     
  15. Skytrooper

    Skytrooper SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Posts:
    596
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Baden, Pa.
    Enjoyed the video of the Flying Crane. Used to see them in Nam bringing in artillery pieces to our firebase. Very loud and they really kicked up the dust. It took some skilled flying to do what that pilot did and good coordination between the guys on the tower and the chopper crew to get that job done.
     
  16. Tower Guy

    Tower Guy SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Posts:
    646
    Likes Received:
    27
    Old TV towers are almost never moved. The strength standards have changed so that refurbished towers must be re-engineered before they can be rebuilt. The cost of the dismantling, engineering and erection is not that much cheaper than a new tower.

    One interesting story in Honolulu is that the land that the old tower was on was so valuable that it was smart to remove the giant self supporting tower.
     
    freeisforme and TheKrell like this.
  17. freeisforme

    freeisforme Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Posts:
    87
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    south jersey
    I made a mistake,what happens to the tv broadcast antennas?
     
  18. Tower Guy

    Tower Guy SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Posts:
    646
    Likes Received:
    27
    In almost all cases old TV transmit antennas are scrapped.

    Occasionally an old antenna may be left on the ground as a spare.

    I have salvaged Broadband panels from an omnidirectional high power antenna for a directional low power on a different channel, but that was unusual. It required slug tuning the panel for better VSWR.
     
    freeisforme and TheKrell like this.
  19. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    47,951
    Likes Received:
    12,908
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Slug tuning. Does that involve a mallet?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  20. Tower Guy

    Tower Guy SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Posts:
    646
    Likes Received:
    27

Separate names with a comma.

More...