One service 2 locations

Status
Please reply by conversation.

miket0072003

Original poster
Jul 28, 2014
Newbie here, I have DirectTV service at my primary home. Details: HD service, 2 HD DVRs and one regular HD receiver, all connected to some sort of wireless router. I can record on one and watch on another reciver. System is connected to phone line, installed about 2-3 years ago. I only use 2 of the receivers. I could do without the 3rd areceiver at my primary residence. I just bought a lakehouse that will be used on the weekends only. My wife and I will be at one place or the other so we would only use the service at one location at a time.
The lakehouse has a 18" x20" dish, probably older technology.
My question is can I have service at both locations with the one account?
I have an older Slimline (non-HD) dish that was left after my last upgrade and also a older non HD receiver if that would help me.
Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks!

:welcome to Satelliteguys miket0072003!

Technically you aren't supposed to have dual locations on one account, but if you will never use them at the same time, it's not an issue. A Slimline dish is hd, so you may be able to use that. The dish at your lake house is only good for sd, not hd. Can you get the model number of the lnb from the Slimline? That's the part at the end of the arm.

Reactions: stardust3
Welcome to the site !:welcome

Yes, you can.
Friends of mine have a cottage and they called D* to inquire about the same thing and they said absolutely, no problem.

I wouldn't involve Directv, the less they know the better!

If both locations are in the same dma and receive the same local programming just call movers and give them the lake house address. Take all receivers with you and tell the tech that shows up you only want one installed but to leave the other two active. Throw him 20 bucks and say thank you. Problem solved :p

:welcome to Satelliteguys miket0072003!