OS mio 4K Multiboot

Discussion in 'Android and Enigma/Linux Based STB Discussion' started by raydio, Jan 5, 2019.

  1. raydio

    raydio Topic Starter K4ECP Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    825
    Likes Received:
    707
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Since obtaining this very fine box, I have been discovering all the cool things that it can do. One of the best things so far is multiboot. This box allows you to have up to 4 different images stored in memory. The images, if created with multiboot in mind, have the option of being able to switch images in a menu instead of having to put the image on a USB stick and rebooting the box every time you wanted to change images.

    This process of multiboot is however not for a beginner as it involves using telnet and another application such as FileZilla.

    Enigma 2 boxes offer as much fun playing with the box itself as FTA offers blind scanning for wild feeds!
     
  2. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,332
    Likes Received:
    6,505
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    FYI... Now that I installed OpenPLI as the main image, able to load up to three other images in multiboot directly from the set top and do not need telnet or Filezilla! :)

    Did you see the instructions provided by elbandido regarding how to load multiple images on the OS mio 4K without using a computer? This makes it easy for anyone to have 4 different operating systems that install and boot without any computer or software connection!

    ---------
    Multiboot is easy to install using PLi based images. The method for this is simple:
    (1) Make a folder named "downloaded_images" on the root of usb drive or on the root of hdd.
    (2) Move the Zipped multiboot image(s) that you want to install into the folder that was made in step one.
    (3) Insert the usb drive or hdd into the receiver, and the folder containing your image files can now be seen in the Flash image menu.


    -----------
     
    Psikic, pmasterp, raydio and 2 others like this.
  3. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Ok, I'm sold. Definitely buying one of these soon :D
     
    raydio and Titanium like this.
  4. raydio

    raydio Topic Starter K4ECP Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    825
    Likes Received:
    707
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    No I did not see that Brian...I just learned how to do it via telnet and FileZilla! That is how fast Enigma 2 is moving...with this box and this operating system you actually will learn something new every day -
     
    pmasterp, FTA4PA, Titanium and 2 others like this.
  5. Chewie

    Chewie SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    341
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    California
    +1
     
    raydio and Titanium like this.
  6. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Does there need to be a primary image loaded to the receiver first in order to make this work? I have OpenPLi running as the main image on the receiver. I put the downloaded_images folder on my USB stick, downloaded a few (OpenSpa and Satdreamgr) but the receiver doesn't see them.

    Edit: I got it to work. From within OpenPLi, you go to Menu, then System, then Flash Image. You can then select another image to install from the USB stick.
     
    primestar31 and Titanium like this.
  7. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Here's a brief explanation of what I did in order to achieve multiboot, in case it might help someone else:

    1. Install OpenPLi as your main image (download latest image from OpenPLi site, put it in a folder called osmio4k on your USB stick, reboot receiver, install the image).
    2. Put USB stick back in your computer. Create a folder called downloaded_images (as mentioned in previous posts).
    3. Download an image that is specifically labeled for multiboot (Satdreamgr has a good one).
    4. Put it in the downloaded_images folder on your USB stick.
    5. Unplug receiver. Insert USB stick. Boot up receiver into your OpenPLi image. Go to Menu, Setup, Flash image.
    6. Locate the Satdreamgr image on your stick.
    7. Install it.

    Rinse, repeat for up to 4 images :)

    If you want to switch between the images, you can either unplug the box, plug it back in, then hold down on the MENU key on your remote. A blue screen appears which will allow you to boot whichever image you want. Or you can do it from within the menu in whichever image you are running.
     
    #7 comfortably_numb, Jan 12, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2019
    Psikic, raydio and KE4EST like this.
  8. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    FL
    All you have to do for switching the image is hold down the Red power button on the remote a few seconds.Multiboot is in the list of options.Only need to do the Blue screen option if your box gets stuck in boot.
     
    raydio, KE4EST and comfortably_numb like this.
  9. Chewie

    Chewie SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    341
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    California
    This is what I do to switch Images:
    If you are using the ATV image:
    1- go to Menu>Standby/restart>multiboot.
    You will see a screen like this:
    Press the < > on the remote to select the images after selecting press the green button to change the image.
     

    Attached Files:

    raydio and comfortably_numb like this.
  10. Chewie

    Chewie SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    341
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    California
    If you are using the SatDreamGR image:
    1- go to Menu>Standby/restart>multiboot.
    You will see a screen like this:
    Press the up/down keys on remote to select the images after selecting press the green button to change the image.
     

    Attached Files:

    comfortably_numb likes this.
  11. Chewie

    Chewie SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    341
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    California
    This does not work for me.
     
  12. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Does work in Satdreamgr

    A1415771-ED15-4CF7-B16E-A799D4709231.jpeg
     
    raydio likes this.
  13. Chewie

    Chewie SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    341
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    California
    Ok it works, I was pressing the red button and not the red power button.
     
    raydio, KE4EST and comfortably_numb like this.
  14. Chewie

    Chewie SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    341
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    California
    Hello All
    Does any body knows how to delete the images on the multi boot slats, or just installed a new image over the one already in the slat.
     
  15. Chewie

    Chewie SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    341
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    California
    Hello All
    Does any body knows how to delete the images on the multi boot slats, or just installed a new image over the one already in the slat.
     
  16. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    FL
    Just install over the image already in the slot.
     
    Titanium and comfortably_numb like this.
  17. raydio

    raydio Topic Starter K4ECP Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    825
    Likes Received:
    707
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Actually if you like to telnet there is a string of commands that EB outlined over at legit that will delete images out of the multiboot slots. I have done it several times and it works great - but I like to telnet.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  18. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    42N 103W
    In case anyone prefers ssh and sftp, just telnet into the box and set a password for root and you're good to go. It works because I just did that. Might not be a bad idea to add a user and then add that user to the sudo group but it doesn't look possible since /usr/bin/sudo and /etc/sudo.conf and /usr/bin/sudoedit doesn't seem to exist even though /etc/group shows sudo. Still, I added an unprivileged user anyway.

    Got multiboot figured out. It wasn't all that difficult to do. But, I found that I need to add NA sats to Pur E2 and probably other images after I add them.
     
    Titanium likes this.
  19. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    42N 103W
    My guess is that's what my "problem" is with additional images? They all show up in the TNAP multiboot but not in the multiboot in other images even though those images have a multiboot option also. The other 3 images see the TNAP image but not each other.

    That's not what I'm seeing.
     
  20. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    In OpenVIX, it's under Menu then select Standby and Restart then select Multiboot

    292692AD-3DC4-46BA-9D8A-4CADCC629E95.jpeg
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...