PC viewing & HR34 new install coming

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

satchel

Original poster
Mar 24, 2013
Kansas
I am new to DirecTv having ordered it Friday. They didn't show for the Sunday install but then we got about a foot of snow!
My question is primarily about how this will work with my PC setup. We currently have Mediacom cable family basic tv and internet. Besides the living room plasma I have a 3 monitor setup with a tower I built right before the Sandy Bridge chips came out,Pentium I7 950, two Radeon HD6850 cards in Crossfire and currently have a cable tv/internet connection to a Hauppage dual tuner card. As I see it I have to run a program to get the Directv feed through my local network? Sounds sketchy to me.

I have a linksys 4200 so I think I have the bandwidth. With the HR44 not yet here for months I believe I'm going to have to hope the installer has a network interface adapter to sell me to link the genie and my network? Our current cable internet which we have to keep is 15MB down but often is much lower(dang university students), I'm wondering if I should step up a tier and hope it is actually a speed improvement, I'll already be hit with a penalty for dropping the video feed.

Then there are the results of the DirecTv2PC playback advisor. According to this the processor isn't quite up to snuff, and the dual graphics card setup is inadequate! Can someone let me know what I'm getting into here. Thanks
pcadv.JPG

I can't help you with the computer setup, but I can :welcome you to Satelliteguys!