OTHER Please Help with Low Quality Signal

Clayman

Original poster
Feb 16, 2016
Orlando, FL
I am a newbie here and was hoping someone could help me with a problem I cannot figure out. I recently returned from Brazil where my Dad gave me a FTA receiver and an universal LNB. I started looking online and decided to first check if from my location I could access some Brazilian satellites (namely 70W Star One C2). I decided to invest on a SatLink 6906 and also bought a 76 cm Ku band dish before I even did anything with the receiver. I have tried to follow all the information available online to position the dish and have spent several hours trying different things but I am unable to lock the signal. I cannot get the satellite quality of the signal to be higher than 4%. The Satlink strength signal varies between 80 to 90% the quality never goes above 4-5%. I don't have any major obstructions or anything like that.
IMG_0029.JPG

B elow is what I have tried:
1) Moved the satellite dish to different locations (higher, across the yard, etc).
2) Bought brand new R6 cable 25 feet
3) Entered an updated transporter 12340 h 29892 - signal strength up to 99%
4) Tried to connect to different satellites. Same problem (80% intensity 4% quality)
5) Tried realigning everything exactly prescribed by the pointer sites online

I am attaching pictures of my setup, LNB and Satlink. Thanks for your advise and feedback.
IMG_0031.JPG
IMG_0033.JPG

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

Reactions: spongella
Star 1 C2 and C4 are South American beams.If you are in Florida you are out of the footprint.

Edit: IF that photo says 'Star one C2" as I believe it does...C2 only has C band in the clear.The few KU channels are scrambled.

Do you have the LO set to Universal or 10600?

Not sure that bird has a good foot print into the US.