Power Supply for Dish

Discussion in 'SatelliteGuys Support Center' started by elliotmf, Sep 3, 2018.

  1. elliotmf

    elliotmf Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Hello,

    The Dish we have Says Slimine Printed on it.
    It looks like it has a Single Antenna.

    We also have the following Splitter:

    We had some work done in the house and think we also need the Power Supply for the Dish.
    I tried it without a power supply and can only get ONE Direct TV Cable Box to work.

    How do i know which Power Supply I need?





    [​IMG]
     
  2. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,050
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    This would best be posted in the DIRECTV support forums as that's what you're dealing with.

    If one "box" is working, there's power getting to the dish so you need to look elsewhere.

    I'd recommend including in-situ (on-site) pictures as they'll tell us other things we need to know.

    If there is a "Genie" in the box mix, we need to know what receivers (possibly Genie Minis) are at the other locations. Receiver model numbers are more definitive than names.

    If I had to guess, you've got a networking problem rather than an antenna power problem.
     
  3. elliotmf

    elliotmf Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Hello,

    Thanks for the reply.

    So we have a Genie 2.(Looks like a Tower)
    And we have some Mini Genies

    Doesn’t the Swim Image Above need a power supply ?
     
  4. elliotmf

    elliotmf Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brooklyn
  5. Bobby

    Bobby Publican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    54,053
    Likes Received:
    7,658
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Once again, you would do better to ask these questions in the DirecTV support forums. This forum is specifically for support of this site.

    DIRECTV Support Forum
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  6. elliotmf

    elliotmf Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Okay
    Sorry, first time on forum.
     
    (((Garyd))) likes this.
  7. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,050
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    The green-labeled thingy is a specialized 8-way splitter and is entirely passive (requires no power). The "special" part is that it has features that support the networking method that DIRECTV uses (MoCA) in order for the HS17 to stream programming to the Genie Minis.

    A PI is built into the HS17 (Genie 2) so you shouldn't need another one. Know that the HS17 must be plugged into the OUT port that has the thin red line leading to it (from the IN port on the side). This port (and only this port) passes the DC power from the PI to the Slimline dish. Since the HS17 is working (without it working, absolutely nothing works), that connection has been made correctly.

    Are all of the Minis hooked directly to the splitter as well?

    If all of this sounds too daunting, you can always call AT&T and ask them to come out and straighten out your installation (for a price).
     
    Jimbo and (((Garyd))) like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...