Problem mirroring from Windows 8.1 laptop to Roku 3

Discussion in 'Internet Television Hardware' started by Tecmo SB Guy, Dec 26, 2014.

  1. Tecmo SB Guy

    Tecmo SB Guy Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Likes Received:
    16
    So I got a new Roku 3 for Christmas and I ran into a bit of a problem.

    I followed these steps:

    http://support.roku.com/entries/55901124-How-do-I-enable-screen-mirroring-on-a-Windows-8-x-device-

    And I got to here:

    http://support.roku.com/attachments/token/huEin44ViQy7A7th9SMGRvMKM/?name=Roku_Stop+Video+option_Win.jpg

    And then it froze. It froze with that graphic displayed on my TV.

    Anybody know how I can get past this point so my TV mirrors what's on my laptop?

    Also how do I know if my laptop has Miracast? I had assumed if you have Windows 8.1 you would have it automatically but I'm not so sure now.
     
  2. thecaribbeancanuck

    thecaribbeancanuck Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    If your laptop has windows 8.1 it will have miracast. It is not called Miracast though. Unfortunately unlike AirPlay this type of mirroring is called something different on every device. Often it's called something like Wireless display. Do you have an Android device to try out with the Roku 3?
     
  3. Robertoo

    Robertoo SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Moreno Valley, CA
  4. Tecmo SB Guy

    Tecmo SB Guy Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks for answering me guys.

    I fixed it already. My graphics driver wasn't up to date and once I did that it gave me the option to "Add a wireless display" in the charms menu.

    It works good for the most part. Sometimes I have to press multiple times in the charms menu to connect. I'm hoping once it comes out of beta it'll be a little more stable.

    It's good for YouTube channels that have live streams since even after their newest update to the YouTube channel, Roku 3 still doesn't support that.
     
  5. Tecmo SB Guy

    Tecmo SB Guy Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hey, how's screen mirroring for you guys since the latest software update to Roku tonight?

    It's gotten worse for me. Harder to connect. Won't stay connected.

    Also when I play video, the sound goes in and out sometimes and the video itself stutters at times.
     
  6. mitchflorida

    mitchflorida SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    972
    Likes Received:
    92
    ditto. Roku mirroring is in beta, not ready for prime time.
     
  7. msmith198025

    msmith198025 Member of the Year
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Posts:
    27,141
    Likes Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    mississippi
    It seems to work well enough the few times I have had the need to use it.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...