Question about Dual Tuner

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

jesserulz233

Supporting Founder
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Feb 8, 2005
South Carolina
Hi I am a noob to Tivo. I just had mine hooked up on Saturday and I love it. The only thing I don't have is the dual tuner. I bought a Satellite Splitter from RadioShack but it only worked partly. If I watched a channel on the same transponder as the other tuner, the channel wouldn't work. My question is what do I need that will make the Dual Tuner work? I have for TV's hooked to the dish. My LNB only has 4 slots and they are all used up. Thanks.

jesserulz233 said:
Hi I am a noob to Tivo. I just had mine hooked up on Saturday and I love it. The only thing I don't have is the dual tuner. I bought a Satellite Splitter from RadioShack but it only worked partly. If I watched a channel on the same transponder as the other tuner, the channel wouldn't work. My question is what do I need that will make the Dual Tuner work? I have for TV's hooked to the dish. My LNB only has 4 slots and they are all used up. Thanks.

honestly don't know much about this stuff, but I know a splitter won't work.

I think you need a multi-switch. I am sure some of the more technical people will answer this question for you shortly.

Add a 5x8 cascading multiswitch, change all existing lines to connect to it, and then run a new line from that switch to the TiVo.

Take the POS RadioShack thing back.

Hogarth said:
Add a 5x8 cascading multiswitch, change all existing lines to connect to it, and then run a new line from that switch to the TiVo.