Question for the microbud experts

Status
Please reply by conversation.

newguy

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Mar 3, 2005
I currently have a P* 1m dish fixed at g10. My question is, would it be possible to put a c band lnb next to the ku lnb and get anik F1? Or are they too far apart? I would love to get the CTV channels but I don't want to give up the ku on g10 and the dish is too heavy for a motor.

the only ctv affiliate available is ASN on both Anik F1 and Anik f2. The CTV channels shown on lyngsat only show a test pattern.

ASN pretty much shows the CTV programming doesn't it?

I have a 40"X30" P* dish dedicated to Anik F1, and get a decent but not great signal. I think it will be pretty tough to get Anik and G10 on the same 1M dish. That said, up until a few months ago nobody thought you could even get c-band on these dishes.

I'm no expert, but I think you're right about ASN. PSB is the real ASN expert though.

Unfortunately I lost my C-Band LNBF in a recent storm........ I think its now in WI. Got a replacement on the way!

Pretty sure a dish pointing at G-10 will not work for AniK F1 C-Band at the same time : ( (16 deg. apart) But it would not stop me from trying. I would move the dish, find and store ASN, move the dish back to G-10 then see if there is any way to get the ASN channel again by offsetting the C-Band LNBF, you can hold it by hand and see if you get any signal quality on the ASN channel, its one of the best FTA channels "Up there" (IMO)

I'll have to get me a Cband lnb and give it a try. Anybody recommend a decent lnb for a decent price? Can't afford too much right now. I was also thinking that since ASN would be the only channel I would want, I might try Anik F2. Its a little closer (11 deg.).

I use the ASC - 421 C-Band LNBF, works well. If you tie it down well enough :tombstone

Does location impact size requirement of dish for C-band?

Hey folks: