Questions: Could I do this?

familyupnorth

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Feb 12, 2008
O.K. Forgive me if this seems like an obvious question, but I am pretty new to this.

Question # 1 To keep things simple for my family, could I set up glorystar, and then add a fixed FTA dish and receiver at another satellite to pick up some more channels? I am assuming I would just use a switch. I'm not sure I want to mess around with a motor, and it may be too confusing for members of my family.

Question # 2 Assuming the above is possible, what satellite would you recommend as a candidate to aim at besides glorystar?

Thanks in advance for your help

O.K. Forgive me if this seems like an obvious question, but I am pretty new to this.
no question is obvious. What's new to you might be new to someone else next week and was new to someone a month ago :)

Question # 1 To keep things simple for my family, could I set up glorystar, and then add a fixed FTA dish and receiver at another satellite to pick up some more channels? I am assuming I would just use a switch. I'm not sure I want to mess around with a motor, and it may be too confusing for members of my family.
correct. The Glorystar system comes with a diseqc switch to combine the two Glorystar satellites together. You can add another fixed dish to the same setup through the diseqc switch

Question # 2 Assuming the above is possible, what satellite would you recommend as a candidate to aim at besides glorystar?

Thanks in advance for your help

check out thelist (at top). Main one people like is G10 at 123 west. Has a fair amount of network channels and RTN (older classic shows) the Retro TV Network :)

Iceberg - thanks for the answer.

If I am understanding you correctly, then I would only need the one glorystar box with a second dish to make this work?

I would think the new DVR box would have the same ability.