quick question

Status
Please reply by conversation.

fre55799

Original poster
Mar 6, 2008
Mcloud, OK
my buddy just moved out of his old roomates house, they had 2 directv recievers, hes moving into a house that already is wired and has the directv sat dish on the roof, is dialed in tested with my birddog (used to be installer) hes wanting to use the reciever from his old buddys house to get programming there, im trying to tell him how illegal that is, what can happen to you and how can they detect that? they didnt tell me how they detected it when i installed for a living

As long as he signs up for his own account there is nothing wrong with it. If he uses one on his buddy's account then that is where you may have problems. Is it illegal, NO but it is against the terms of use.

As long as he signs up for his own account there is nothing wrong with it. If he uses one on his buddy's account then that is where you may have problems. Is it illegal, NO but it is against the terms of use.

If he doesn't have his own account, with the receiver listed on that account it IS illegal. It's called account stacking, and D* will push for prosecution if they find out.

If he doesn't have his own account, with the receiver listed on that account it IS illegal. It's called account stacking, and D* will push for prosecution if they find out.

What law are they breaking?

What does it matter,Your buddies receivers just happend to be active ,even though he's not using them? Just because you get a signal doesn't mean they are activated. Sound Fishy.

What does it matter,Your buddies receivers just happend to be active ,even though he's not using them? Just because you get a signal doesn't mean they are activated. Sound Fishy.

Who said they weren't using them? I took the OP as they were currently active receivers and he wanted to take one with him. I personally would just sign up for a new account and get some free equipment with the activation.