Recommendations for a good home theater setup?

MCally92

Original poster
May 24, 2013
North Carolina
Hey guys, I've recently decided to convert my basement into a home theater, and I'm having some trouble on exactly where to start. I have a general knowledge of how these things work, but I'm looking for any input as to projectors, seating, themes, A/V devices, sound setup, etc.

I've done a good bit of research, but I'm really looking for some good advice as to where to start. Since I'm pretty new to this, any beginner/starter advice or tips would be greatly appreciated! Looking forward to getting my hands dirty and finally getting the home theater I've always wanted!

Hi MCally,

I've been working on a series of articles on this, but am not ready to publish yet. Here are a couple of guidelines though.

Before you do anything you have to plan and budget. How big should the theater be? Is it to watch movies, sports, TV shows, gaming, or some combination? Is the room going to be dedicated to viewing, or will there be other activities going on? Is sound isolation an issue? Do you have kids trying to sleep upstairs? How would you rank performance vs aesthetics of the space. Do you want to hide the speakers? All these things need to be decided early on as they affect every decision along the way. Frankly, equipment selection comes later for a couple of reasons. First, if you buy it early, it will sit in a box and become obsolete while you prepare the space, or worse, you will set it up, start watching, and never complete the space.