Restoring 10ft dish

Discussion in 'C-BAND Satellite Discussion' started by Andyboy90, Aug 26, 2019.

  1. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,645
    Likes Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Definitely don't rush it. You don't want to undo your hard work. :oldno
     
  2. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,276
    Likes Received:
    4,541
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Just lay the empty paper bags from the Quikcrete over the cement bunched around the pole, and wet them with water every so often. Let them sit there for at least 1 week. It makes a humid condition right there, and keeps the top from drying out sooner than the bottom.

    Works perfectly.
     
    EmCommSat and Andyboy90 like this.
  3. Andyboy90

    Andyboy90 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Edmonton, Canada
    Its really humid here right now and we wont see any sun for the next few day so I don't think I have to worry about the top drying out sooner than bottom. Also it will be raining for majority of the day today
     
  4. R.C.

    R.C. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humphreys, Missouri
    I may be too late with my comment, but if I'm not, you ''Definitely'' need some type of tab or bolt on the pipe that will be in the concrete. If you don't have access to a welder, you could drill holes straight through the pipe & put a length of threaded rod through the pipe. I'd do it in a couple of places & maybe at a right angle to each other. Use nuts to tighten the rods to the pipe & maybe put some large washers (maybe fender washers) on the ends of the rods & hold them in place with nuts. The rods only need to extend a 3 or 4 inches beyond the external wall of the pipe. As far as the size of the rods, I wouldn't use anything smaller than 1/2in. threaded rod. I've lost count of how many dishes I'd put in or repaired self-installed dishes. If the homeowner (the self-installer) didn't weld at least a 4 to 6in. long X 2in. wide piece of 1/4in. thick steel plate to the pipe around a foot or so from the bottom of the pipe, it'll turn in the concrete. Occasionally we'd use factory made poles in an install & that's about the size of the tab & the location it was welded on them. To be honest, the 2 threaded rod setup might be better if you're putting the dish up in an area that's liable to catch a lot of wind.
     
  5. Andyboy90

    Andyboy90 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Edmonton, Canada
    I have read on this forum about atleast one person who used cheap muffler clamps to hold the pole in concrete for all his installations. I have a thick u-bolt tightened on the pole in concrete. The dish will be low in height with wooden fence all around. Not really concerned about the wind
     
    #45 Andyboy90, Sep 9, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2019
  6. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,858
    Likes Received:
    3,956
    Location:
    Montana
    :welcome to the forum R.C. :)
    Always a good idea. You never want to redo something that needs to be permanent. :)

    That said: I have a friend here in town that has been a satellite installer since the 80's and retired now. The guy who has a junkyard of satellite dishes. He tells me in all his years of doing C-Band dishes he has never dug more than 3 feet and never used anti-rotation devices. :eek And claims to have never had one slip. :)
     
    Andyboy90 and norman881 like this.
  7. Andyboy90

    Andyboy90 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Edmonton, Canada
    Update: So its been over 3 days now since the concrete job and the pole is still standing strong at 90 degrees. Sometimes it fluctuates upto 89.8 at some points but I guess that’s within the margin of error. The concrete looks dry from the top and hopefully it has dried up all the way to the bottom. Weather forecast looks better and tomorrow seems to be a sunny day. I need a suggestion from you guys. My buddy is not available to help tomorrow and I want to get it done asap. I will ask my gf to help me with mounting the assembled dish on the pole but the panel and mount assembly seems to be a 2 person task (atleast to me). Would I be able to install all the the panels and the mount all by myself or should I wait for my friend’s days off.
     
  8. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,276
    Likes Received:
    4,541
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I wouldn't install it yet. 3 days is nowhere near long enough, and the wind load on the dish could make your pole lean over further before it hardens. Just hold out a bit longer.

    I'd never install a C-band dish on a pole sooner than 7 full days of at least 70 degree weather for curing.

    Is it possible for 1 person to do it? Sure! However it's much safer for a minimum of two.
     
    JFOK, FTA4PA and Andyboy90 like this.
  9. Andyboy90

    Andyboy90 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Edmonton, Canada
    Ok I will leave it alone for a few more days and probably work on it on Monday
     
  10. JFOK

    JFOK SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Posts:
    683
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Cape Cod - MA.
    Andyboy90,

    The posters here have been a great resource of info for me, even though I have 28 years of FTA experience.
    You're wise to take their advice and take your time. Get it done right the first time. Don't rush a good thing. You'll be "on the air" in no time.
    As for help, its always good to have an extra set of hands available...it makes for easy and more importantly, safe work.
    Plus, its also good to have a second set of eyes to help prevent you from possibly overlooking an important step.

    John
     
    Andyboy90, primestar31 and Brct203 like this.
  11. Andyboy90

    Andyboy90 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Edmonton, Canada
    I finally got it done :clapping The edges are almost fully flush. I know I still have to clean it. I will get a step ladder and a brush sometime tomorrow to clean the dirt. I will need a longer wire for the actuator to bring it to my living room. I will start testing the signal probably tomorrow morning and will update you guys.

    [​IMG]
     
    iccoldbeer, cookies, JFOK and 4 others like this.
  12. Andyboy90

    Andyboy90 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Edmonton, Canada
    I ran into a small problem. I am trying to move the Von Weise actuator with a Vbox II (ASC1 on its way). The actuator only moves about an inch to east and it kept going towards west. Ofcouse I stopped it before it almost went in to prevent damage. What am I missing here? I will attach a picture to show how far it goes
    [​IMG]
     
    iccoldbeer likes this.
  13. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,858
    Likes Received:
    3,956
    Location:
    Montana
    The hardware limit switches are out of adjustment. The actuator motor was probably run without it being installed. Run it east till it stops then unhook the actuator from the dish end and unscrew the shaft all the way out to where the east limit should be. Reattach to the dish. You will probably find the west limit back to where it should be also.
     
    Titanium and Andyboy90 like this.
  14. Andyboy90

    Andyboy90 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Edmonton, Canada
    Should i manually rotate the actuator arm all the way out and then install it back?
     
  15. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,858
    Likes Received:
    3,956
    Location:
    Montana
    Yes. :)
     
    EmCommSat and Andyboy90 like this.
  16. Andyboy90

    Andyboy90 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Edmonton, Canada
    Update: I setup declination and elevation angles as per the chart and I can see everything I have tried so far (99, 101, 107). I will do tuning and tweaking tomorrow but all I can say at this moment is that NASA UHD looks so stunning :biggrin
     
  17. ftageekyyc

    ftageekyyc SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Posts:
    221
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Both ends of the QE2, Alberta, Canada
    Go to know! You're encouraging me to put mine up... :)
     
    Andyboy90 likes this.
  18. Andyboy90

    Andyboy90 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Edmonton, Canada
    You should go for it :)
     
  19. Andyboy90

    Andyboy90 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Edmonton, Canada
    Update: I did some tuning to the angles and fd adjustment and now I can lock onto pretty much every available tp on all satellites from 87w-133w. The only sat available to me east of 87W would be 58W but I don't want to break the actuator trying to get there.
     
    #59 Andyboy90, Sep 17, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2019
    Horsepower, EmCommSat and FTA4PA like this.
  20. tdti1

    tdti1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    2,318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Just make sure not to pop it out the tube but if you set your limits you should have nothing to worry about, if there is nothing on the lower end you can play with the clamp to basically make your first bird near the limit on that end. Some dishes I set up with friends when the dish went to far the bar would come close to the dish, we just extended the bar welding a little adapter and we were able to move much future on the arc. It's very fun to play with the dish, but once you are pretty happy, just leave it, in 2-3 years you will probably need to re-peak so don't go nuts, I've had my dish near perfect then mess it all up trying to get it aligned even better lol.

    Remember the feed alignment is also very important, make sure it is straight and firing right in the middle of the dish. Have fun!
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...