SD Channel quality

JaydeeD

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Nov 30, 2003
I would like to get everyones opinion of the SD channel picture quality on Voom. I have been watching and comparing for a couple days now and I feel that its worse than bad, its horrible. I thought maybe since the Voom box wasd upconverting these channels to 1080 for me that maybe that was it, so i ran an output to a 480 input (standard video input) on my TV and still horrible.

Now I have never seen picture quality on E* or D*, but I would assume them to be impeccable

Maybe I am spoiled, I have been using C-Band (10 foot dish) for over 15 years, and the picture qulity on just a normal channel is just as good as Voom's best HD Channel (without the HD of course) crystal clear, sharp and extremely clean (they have to be great cause this is where cable systems get thier channels from so they have to have a perfect starting signal.

As far as I can see, Voom is going to have to do something about the SD channels. Or I will be getting my money back and staying with C-Band

Dish Network and DirecTV don't look this bad do they? Please let me know what these channels look like to you

One other thing Voom needs to address is sound quality and volume levels on SD channels....I know from using C-band that most if not all of these channels have a Dolby Digital level of sound, and most are volume leveled, but in scanning thru Voom, I get a level of sound (without adjusting volume) that goes from almost inaudible, to extremely loud, with Dolby Quality sound missing from most SD channels (almost all if not all of these channels DO leave the studio in Dolby, and are transmitted on big dishes in Dolby, so it must be Vooms decision that they don't care how bad they sound, or look.

Maybe since the parent company is a cable system, they are used to crappy video and sound and think its supposed to look like that.