Seeing Red!

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Donut Dan

Original poster
Nov 19, 2011
Bishop Ca
Hello every one. This is my first time here. I recently lost my local channels in HD. Still have standard def. My zip is 93514. This zip has partial coverage in 2 counties. I live In mono county. Direct reps says the zip indicates Inyo county. I'm not far from the Inyo county line, but I pay Mono county taxes and in fact live in mono county. If I go to the Directv website and plug in my zip to see what channels I should get, it asks me which county. I put in Mono and it says I should be receiving my local stations from Reno Nv, thus enabling me to receive my locals in HD. I currently receive my locals fro LA. My daughter lives 3 miles down the road and receives her locals from Reno. I have have spent hours on the phone to no avail. I was told it was being referred to "escalation", nearly three weeks ago and not a word from anyone. Are your locals decided by zip or county? Are you immune from prosecution, if your victim is a satellite provider? Or does that depend on county or zip? TIA in advance. Dan.

Designated Market Areas (DMAs) are determined by county. The catch is that the provider gets to choose a year out of the last five in which the DMA mapping was laid out. Everyone who lives in Mono County should get the same "locals" from a particular provider. If your daughter lives in a different county, her situation has no relevance to yours.

Another possibility is that DIRECTV's spot beam coverage may not be up to snuff on the Cal-Neva border. I'm pretty sure this is the case in the west edge of the Las Vegas DMA and it may be the case in the Reno DMA as well.

:welcome to the site Donut Dan!!