Skew question?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

coinmaster32

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 25, 2010
USA
Is the +5 VDC for the skew connection on the back of a 4DTV supposed to be a constant 5 volts? I think thats what may have ruined my servo.

Is the +5 VDC for the skew connection on the back of a 4DTV supposed to be a constant 5 volts? I think thats what may have ruined my servo.

No.
+5VDC is enabled when you skew, to power the servo, then when you stop skewing it is disabled - like a light switch!

So do you think the +5 out being constantly on destroyed my old servo? What would cause it?

I'm no electronics expert but I can tell you this, I had my 920 slaved to my AZBox Ultra as a means to move my dish and to manage polarity changes and the 920 will default to either H or V polarity (don't know exactly which) with the 920 power off. I tried turning power off on the 920 and depending on which polarity I was watching on the AZbox I lost all video. It will work with the 920 off on one polarity but not the other, which tells me that "some" power is sent to the servo all the time on one of the two polarities.

RE: servo. These things do go bad. I've replaced two on my feedhorn since 1988 so I'm now on my third, which is NOT made by my feedhorn Manufacturer (Chaparral). If you power but can view only ONE polarity then either the wiring is bad or the servo is toast.

I still don’t know why so many people here still choose to go through all this hassle! You lose signal if the analog box is on the wrong channel. You lose signal when the servo flakes out and stops. You lose signal etc...etc... take that antique thing off and replace it with an LNBF. Best move I made with mine!