Starband dish

Status
Please reply by conversation.

gulliksen

Original poster
May 25, 2006
I have a Starband (Channelmaster 75e) that I want to use for a fixed FTA dish.
Can I use the stock lnb? If it must be changed, which one might be used? Will it fit the bracket/mount?

Thanks

The 75e is a bit undersized but will still work for FTA..You will miss many signals with that dish but if you are going to park it on a sat that has very few feeds but alot of programming then Galaxy 19 would be just fine for that dish.

The factory lnb is a Japan Radio lnb and they are actually very good performers.Myself I would not change out the factory lnb...What you will need is a multiswitch and it can be a powered multiswitch or non powered..I prefer powered multiswitches here to power the lnb`s but it is not needed!..The Horizontal output of lnb to the 18v input and the Vertical output of the lnb to the 13v input of the multiswitch...From there you can go straight to the receiver or if you would like to start yourself a dish farm then all is needed is the output of your multiswitch to a Diseqc switch

Welcome to the FTA world and Sat Guys.

Isn't the stock LNB single polarity / single output on the Starband 75e?

Definitely keep the matched scalar/feedhorn. Remove the buc (transmitter) and cap the waveguide. Much better performance with the stock feedhorn than using a LNBF.

Performance will be greatly reduced with an aftermarket LNBF. (been there/done that) Use the stock feedhorn/lnb.
I haven't seen an aftermarket LNBF that will 'match' an elliptical dish.
Could a 2nd LNB 'take the place' of the BUC(transmitter) and *If present)'bolt on' TX filter for the opposite polarity?

The 75e is a bit undersized but will still work for FTA..You will miss many signals with that dish but if you are going to park it on a sat that has very few feeds but alot of programming then Galaxy 19 would be just fine for that dish.