Storm Fade - Alaska Dish

Status
Please reply by conversation.

SBKC

Original poster
Jul 1, 2016
KCMO
I am in an Emerg Operations Center in KC, the very heart of America. Obviously, television is a critical part of our operation, especially during the harshest of weather. We use a combination of OTA, cable and DirecTV, but DTV has our broadest range of channels, so we want to get the most out of it. My primary TVs can receive all the sources, but many of my individual user TVs just get DTV.

Currently we have the "standard" SlimLine with an SL5K LNB. It uses several amps to come down 11 floors to our office. Our normal reception is good and the vendor is very quick to point to our strong signal strength, but always on a clear day. We don't DO clear days. But, compared to my home Dish network, we seem to lose signal in a much lighter storm than we should.

While I think I have a decent understanding, I'm no expert and most of my experience is with 2 way comms. If I may pick some brains.

I am pushing for a 1.2 meter "Alaska Dish", the theory being that the bigger dish will pull in the storm weakened signal better and keep the signal longer than a standard dish. Of course, the vendor keeps saying NOT NEEDED and NOT RECOMMENDED, which is get for NORMAL installs, but I'm not normal.

From what I can tell, I have to choose an LNB that gets 99, 101, and 103. I lose a few international channels, but that's not really a concern. I can't find my local channels. How can I tell if they are on those satellites?

It doesn't appear to be a LOT of money. Am I wasting time? Giving up something? Missing something altogether? I'd welcome your expertise. I know I can't be storm PROOF, but I think I can do better than I am.

Thanks all.

Yes it would help.....Keeping channels on SD would eliminate many drop outs....HS on direct is KA band and is a very small tight signal that a drop of water can block much easier....