Switching from cable to sat questions

alphadog

Original poster
Nov 22, 2007
Hi all,

Newbie here on this forum. I have some satellite questions regarding switching from Cable to Sat. My current setup is as follows:

Belden RG6 homerun from 8 rooms to the basement tied into a splitter with incoming from cable company. One room has a DVR, the other rooms just do analog cable. Yes, I have 8 TVs in the house.

Since cable is always going up, I want to switch to satellite. I have not really decided which brand yet, but I am first most concerned with installation. I DO NOT want a converter box in every room. Nor do I want to use the newer receiver boxes that let you control a second TV via a UHF remote - this means more wiring.

What solutions exist for Homerun installations with this many TVs?
Do I need 2 dishes as they seem to max at 4 LNBs?
Can I stack 8 receivers in the basement and control them all remotely?

Any online guides would be great....

Also, one of my TVs is HD (more on the way). Even though I have an HD DVR through the cable company, the picture looks like crap on HD - compared to OTA HD. Actually the HD is OK from the cable company, but running all the other channels through the composite in on my 61 inch rear projection gives me digital cable that looks worse then analog.

I don't watch any pay per view or movie channels, I just want the basic 100 or 150 type package, but i fear that with 8 TVs it will cost me more then cable - I really want to dump cable.

Any help or advice is appreciated.

No...you don't need two dishes...you can use a switch on one of them to get 8 outputs.

Since you don't want a receiver in every room, the best way would be to put all 8 tuners in another location, and get RF remotes (either that control the receiver directly, or that control IR repeaters), and then run the output from the receivers into each TV's feed.