They finally fixed DoublePlay!

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by Redwald, Aug 6, 2018.

  1. Redwald

    Redwald Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    DoublePlay never worked smoothly forever until this last update on Genie. This is a highly used feature for me. I pause one channel and switch to another, then pause it as well so I can watch 2 channels for commercial skipping.

    If you were in DP mode and wanted to switch using the "down" button it would kick you back to the same channel you were on. You'd have to press the button numerous times to get it to work. I think it had something to do with changing resolution from a 1080 to 720 (or vice-versa) source. But now it appears they finally have fixed it after these many years of frustration.
     
  2. boomer_106

    boomer_106 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    874
    Likes Received:
    2
    I hate how it usually decides I need to switch to some goofy channel like 201 that I am not even watching. It isn't fixed for me. I use an HR 22 and HR 24's. No Genie
     
    AZ. likes this.
  3. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    59,203
    Likes Received:
    2,086
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    This is the same issue I've always had, so eventually just gave up and used the Previous button (which loses the buffer) ...
    Outside of that issue, I have never heard anyone really talk about it not working.
     
  4. ejb1980

    ejb1980 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    415
    Location:
    Vermont
    Double play always does the channel 201 thing for me too, but once you get that channel on the channel you want, it has never not worked for me.
     
  5. jct21

    jct21 Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Posts:
    31
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    usa


    glad its fixed... I do the same thing. absolutely love the DP feature. if they got rid of the DP feature id get rid of them :)
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...