Tracking / Focal / What signal are you all getting on Galaxy 12 (replaced 15)

Status
Please reply by conversation.

whitehawk82

Original poster
May 26, 2010
Boise
Hi,

I'm a newbie on this forum although I've been reading it for years. I have run into a big snag and decided its finally time to just ask the experts. I have a REALLY old dish, I mean REALLY old that I maintain. We pull in one channel, classic arts showcase with this dish. While we used to just use the analog we now use the digital they have added but that doesnt always work so well.

I got up on the roof and re-tigtened and replaced a lot of hardware and got up to 70% signal on some sats (mainly SatMex5) but on the extremes my signal is almost nothing so I know the dish isn't tracking properly, however there is only an elevation adjustment, no declination adjustment. Also a new DMX741U has been retrofitted onto this dish, there was no way to mount the scalar ring properly so we clamped the original clamps around the LNB right behind the ring, messing with this focus doesnt appear to help.

So anyway on Galaxy 15 (now 12 since 15 is falling) we are only seeing a 30% signal quality, I finally got it locked with elevation to about 46% but now I can't move to any other birds and that still seems low. If i push on the bottom of the dish it jumps to about 59% but it is not just tilting the dish down it's actually warping it and making the sides push inward...

I'm thinking time for a new FS08 dish or something because this old aluminum 9ft dish is not working as I think it should. If anyone has any tips to get this old dish to work properly I'd love to hear it, even if we just lock it to Galaxy 12 permanently as this is the only channel we use. I've done all of the obvious things, new LNB, new run of Quad Shield cable, made sure the entire dish was grounded well with 6AWG Stranded wire and made all physical adjustments I can think of. What kind of signal do you guys get from that channel?