Troubleshooting a Visionsat IV-200

Status
Please reply by conversation.

bincitybandit

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Sep 11, 2005
I've got a Visionsat IV-200 with PVR that has some glitches I'd like to try to iron out. I'm just a novice, so I could use a little help or tips. I'm hoping it is a firmware issue that can be simply fixed, but I've never done that either.

Here are my problems:

1) When I set the timer to record something, there seems to be a 50% chance that it will not record. I have no idea why. Possibly connected to problem #3.

2) Occaisonally, it will show that something I set the timer to record in the playlist, but when I go to watch it, the message "Fail to Play" appears.

3) For setting the clock/date, I can't seem to reliably use the "Auto" mode. If I select "Auto", it sets the time and date perfectly, but after a few days I'll come back and it will have reset itself to a random date in 2004.

4) When I set the clock/date in "Manual" mode, the clock seems to lose time. It appears to lose about 2-3 minutes per hour as soon as I set it. So if I set it 8:00 a.m., by 8:00 p.m., it will display 7:45 p.m.

Here is what is displayed on my System Information screen:

Model: IV 200
H/W Version: S1000 1.00
Driver Version: API 1.00
Application Version: NORW V1.15
Data Version: FDU v1.1

All I use for PVR memory is a 16GB flash drive.

One more general question, I only use my FTA system on weekends mostly during the winter. Would a good rule of thumb be to turn the reciever competely off using the switch on the back when I don't use it all week? Or is it o.k. to leave it on all the time?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Have you read the Visionsat review thread?

http://www.satelliteguys.us/fta-mpeg2-equipment-reviews/101350-visionsat-iv200-pvr-plus.html