U502 received last night

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by lgb0250, Aug 30, 2017.

  1. patmurphey

    patmurphey SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    372
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Huh? Which color format are you using?
     
  2. bobvick

    bobvick Pub Member / Supporter Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Posts:
    4,393
    Likes Received:
    2,124
    Location:
    Northwest Alabama
    I have 'muscle memory' for the 40.0, so I use it most of the time.
     
    crodrules and bspei like this.
  3. lynnjohn13

    lynnjohn13 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    PA
    I have a Hopper 3 with the OTA interface and have experienced the disappearing OTA locals as described above. It's happened three straight days now, since the most recent software update. A rescan fixes it, but they disappear again overnight. I called Dish to let them know.
     
    BamaFan2 and JSheridan like this.
  4. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,411
    Likes Received:
    8,878
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Sounds like it set to Classic instead of modern
     
  5. SandFarmer

    SandFarmer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    322
    Location:
    The Beach.
    "Modern"
     
    crodrules and littlecloud319 like this.
  6. patmurphey

    patmurphey SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    372
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Don't the guide and other pages have a black background?
     
  7. SandFarmer

    SandFarmer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    322
    Location:
    The Beach.
    Nope. That's the problem. Pic's kinda blurry.

    KCGUIGuide .jpg
     
  8. xfoneguy

    xfoneguy SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    364
    Location:
    Duvall, WA
    Same results for me.
     
  9. patmurphey

    patmurphey SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    372
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I see what you mean, but on my wife's TV it is a lot blacker. I use the Classic mode in the family room and kitchen, much easier on the eyes.

     
  10. Almighty1

    Almighty1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    572
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    San Francisco, California USA
    Finally at 12:10AM PDT today, it did do the download when I forced the update but it took forever doing the programming part.
     
  11. stardust3

    stardust3 SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Posts:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    4,523
    Location:
    .....
    Mine is still doing it also. Trying to hold off replacing the receiver to see if a fix is in the near future.

    Everything else works fine.

    It's getting old rather quick, might give it a couple more days then RA that sucker.
     
  12. jackson85

    jackson85 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Robinson, Illinois, United States
    With these updates on the Hopper 3, is it usual to lose an internet connection? I think it did that with the last update, and it did it again with this update!!!
     
  13. Hall

    Hall SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Posts:
    18,409
    Likes Received:
    3,194
    Location:
    Germantown OH
    Nope and that's why some people (comfortably_numb was one, as I recall) calls the interface Carbon Gray User Interface (Carbon GUI). Dish did have a BLACK theme/color scheme option available for a while - the choices were Modern, Classic, and Black. I really liked it and wish they would bring it back. They likely removed it because it wasn't 100% complete all throughout the interface.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  14. littlecloud319

    littlecloud319 Tech guru

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    524
    Likes Received:
    364
    Location:
    Black Creek WI
    Black would actually be really good to have these days with OLED displays. Even if it’s not complete. They should have “secret” codes like on DTV so we can enable beta features at our own discretion.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  15. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    47,741
    Likes Received:
    12,731
    Location:
    Northern VA
    "G"rey?" Or "G"arbage?"
     
    littlecloud319 likes this.
  16. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,564
    Likes Received:
    3,374
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    CGUI = Complete Garbage User Interface :D
     
    navychop and littlecloud319 like this.
  17. SandFarmer

    SandFarmer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    322
    Location:
    The Beach.
    "Love it!"

    I love how my CGUI has found its place in the conversation. Now for KCGUI = Kinda Carbon Grey User Interface.

    I'm looking forward to all the new apropos creative definitions.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  18. Foxbat

    Foxbat Addicted to new HW Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    12,813
    Likes Received:
    4,718
    Location:
    Michiana
    Has anyone seen this weirdness with Ch. 215 (WeatherNation) where the picture and audio pause and catch up which I don't see when watching the WeatherNation App on my Sony Bravia or Apple TV. It seems to have started with this version of H3 firmware.

    It's odd it never seems to happen during commercials... Hmmm...

    Update: Well, it may be Dish's uplink, not U502. Maybe Dish needs a better Internet connection.
     
  19. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,651
    Likes Received:
    1,256
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    I called Dish about it during Hurricane Harvey and was condescendingly told the it was due to the cloud cover from the hurricane, unfortunately, I'm 600 miles NW of Houston and there was not a cloud in the sky.

    I also noticed it was neither during commercials or computer graphics for radar.

    I think Weather Nation has some hiccoughs.
     
  20. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,564
    Likes Received:
    3,374
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Kansas City Guacamole User Interface
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...