Video Artifacts...Oh My!!

Just got Voom installed tonight!

I'm a newbie, I haven't filled out my profile yet so I'll first let you know where I'm located. Palatka, Florida, 50miles south of Jacksonville, 45 miles east of Gainesville, 50 miles north of Daytona Beach. Now...for those far more knowledgeable than I am about this stuff you have an idea where I am as far as the satellite is concerned.

I just dropped TW today and had Voom installed by a local dealer. Got it installed the same day I ordered it. In fact I'm the first install for this vendor besides the two he installed for himself. One for his store and one for his home.

I know that I will eventually be PLEASED with Voom but not just yet. My problem seems to be a simple one. HD is just not up to par as TWs was. It's not far off but I know it can be better. My display is a Hitachi 51 swx 20b that has been calibrated professionally. Signal strength = 96. I started with DVI to input one, noticed the negative diff. right away so I switched over to component hoping this would be the fix. It wasn't. HD just isn't as sharp, defined, liquid as it was with cable. Could someone here please shoot me some leads as to where to begin to troubleshoot this problem.

BTW software version is 2.40
HAL:00.07.33
Middleware version:01.45.02
Guide version: 20.02.07
Target software version: n/a
EMM Providers: 1080,15a
Emm provider:1080
Emm provider: yes
Satellite sig power: /snr: 79/14.94

I hope this is enough info to get started with. I don't know if my installer is as HD savy as I am...and I'm not much on it.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks. :confused:

themole,

welcome. Glad that you had a happy installation. As far as the sharpness is concerned, have you tried to calibrate the the TV according to the output of the stb?