VIP 622 Fast Forward

Club Chapin

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jun 25, 2006
I'm new to Dish and the VIP 622. I'm a former comcast customer and must say that overall I prefer both the Dish hardware and dish service to Comcast's.

The one thing that I p[referred about the comcast DVR is that when FF'ing, then hitting play it did a very good job of starting where you wanted it to start, ie FF until the show starts again and press play and it would not play from that point, but from a point ahead of where you press play and it (I?) was pretty good at starting right at the start of the program segment.

The VIP 622 by default does not do this. When FF'ing, when I press play it pretty much seems to play from that point forward, which leaves me to miss part of the show or screw around trying to back up to the beginining of the segment.

Is this behavior adjustable somewhere in the set-up? I had a look and could not find it.

Thanks, Pete

I suggest you start using the skip forward and skip backward buttons. As a former Tivo user I always used the FF button, but once I started using the skip forward I've never gone back.

Yes, don't use ff, but skip forward. IT skips ahead 30 seconds, and the skip back is 10 seconds. If you press the skip forward button as soon as the show goes to commercial, usually pressing it about 5-6 times will get you directly to the when the show starts again.

Wow. I never noticed the skip buttons. This rocks! Thanks!

Did you know that this thing has PIP?

Thanks again, Pete

RobertsD said:
Yes, don't use ff, but skip forward. IT skips ahead 30 seconds, and the skip back is 10 seconds. If you press the skip forward button as soon as the show goes to commercial, usually pressing it about 5-6 times will get you directly to the when the show starts again.