VIP Receiver Retirement

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by blatimer1983, Jan 1, 2018.

  1. blatimer1983

    blatimer1983 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I heard VIP receivers will no longer be activated on New or Existing Dish accounts effective January 16, 2018 which means the last day to activate will be January 15, 2018. Is this true?
     
    EchostarFan likes this.
  2. blatimer1983

    blatimer1983 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I think customers who already have legacy VIP receivers on their accounts will be grandfathered and can still receive replacements at least for now.
     
    EchostarFan likes this.
  3. EchostarFan

    EchostarFan SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Posts:
    52
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Landis, North Carolina
    This is it, we are gonna plan a funeral for the VIP receivers that are gonna die because of the ruthless Hopper/Joey cabal that has been roaming around Dish....

    And Happy New Year, blatimer!
     
    blatimer1983 likes this.
  4. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,554
    Likes Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    That is my understanding. So, on January 14, 2018, I will be contacting Dish to reactivate my old ViP612. By the way, the deadline only applies to ViP DVRs. ViP211/ViP211k/ViP211z are not on the chopping block, yet.
     
  5. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,554
    Likes Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    The replacement for a 322/ViP222/ViP222k will be a refurbished ViP722k without DVR functionality. Going forward, replacements for ViP DVRs will be the new Hopper Duo.
     
    EchostarFan and blatimer1983 like this.
  6. blatimer1983

    blatimer1983 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I’m sure the other VIP receivers will be next to be phased out especially when Dish works out the bugs in Wally receivers. I’m not sure!!
     
  7. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,554
    Likes Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Now what bugs would those be? ;)
     
  8. blatimer1983

    blatimer1983 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Mississippi
    The new Hopper Duo May be called Hopper Lite, but I’m not sure.
     
  9. blatimer1983

    blatimer1983 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Really not sure. I’ve read that a lot of customers have been have trouble with OTA module.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  10. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,554
    Likes Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    There are two trains of thought on that. First, Dish may have simply eliminated the Hopper Lite name. (never saw the light of day) The other thought is that Dish may be saving the Hopper Lite name for a bundle deal of a Wally with an external hard drive, providing the same basic functionality as the Hopper Duo, but without the monthly DVR fee.
     
    MikeD-C05 and blatimer1983 like this.
  11. blatimer1983

    blatimer1983 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I’m sure Dish will have to come up with some plan on January 16, 2018.
     
    navychop and EchostarFan like this.
  12. crodrules

    crodrules The Happy Pessimist

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,554
    Likes Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    It is not a coincidence that date is the launch date of the Hopper Duo, along with the new customer offers promoting the Hopper Duo. ;)
     
    MikeD-C05 and EchostarFan like this.
  13. jscud

    jscud SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Posts:
    303
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Central NH
    The OTA module is a separate add on unit. It’s troubles are not exclusive to the Wally.
     
    crodrules and blatimer1983 like this.
  14. TheKrell

    TheKrell A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV. Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    25,125
    Likes Received:
    17,921
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Why would Dish call anything that cannot hop over commercials a "Hopper Lite"? Can the Wally hop?
     
    dishdude and EchostarFan like this.
  15. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,276
    Likes Received:
    4,541
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    It sounds better than "Flopper"... LOL
     
  16. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    47,692
    Likes Received:
    12,701
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Not much time left to get the word out, and the equipment.
     
    MikeD-C05 and EchostarFan like this.
  17. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    11,295
    Likes Received:
    989
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    I think the Wally is short for Wallaby which definitely can hop but is smaller than a Roo.
     
  18. jerryez

    jerryez Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    4,265
    Likes Received:
    734
    Location:
    Pensacola,FL
    Actually, none of the Hoppers Hop over commercials like they used to, since Dish has made deals with the networks to screw the customers out of the skip mode.
    Get a TiVo Roamio OTA. They skip the entire commercial on networks and some other channels within seconds of the program ending.:clapping
     
    MikeD-C05, TheKrell and dishrich like this.
  19. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,405
    Likes Received:
    9,061
    Location:
    USA
    Our Hoppers automatically skips the commercials on the big 4 prime time networks just fine.
     
  20. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,785
    Likes Received:
    10,228
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    As does mine! I just have to wait a while Auto Hop to kick in. If I am impatient I simply press Skip Forward... ;)
     
    EchostarFan and TheKrell like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...