went to login to dish, got locked out of account.

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by brejust, Oct 11, 2018.

  1. brejust

    brejust Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Posts:
    281
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    :) life
    went to my dish to login, got locked out, created a new password, says attempted to many password attempts. created new password. now locked out.
    have to wait till about 8 am to contact dish chat.
    issue is i had correct password when i went to site. never had issue like this.
    so i will call dish about 8 am or chat.
    .....
    weird that this is happened. never had problem like this before. hope it doesnt happen to others as well.
    ....
     
  2. brejust

    brejust Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Posts:
    281
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    :) life
    hmm had issue fix, then same thing happen again. just talk to a chat person on dish and they dish* know about the problem of having log in issues so i am sure its not only me who is having problem.
     
  3. Howard Simmons

    Howard Simmons SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Posts:
    190
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Northwest Florida
    I just tried and I got in @ 2:48 pm CDT.
     
  4. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    948
    Likes Received:
    995
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    When I went to my MyDish account a couple of days ago, it wouldn't accept my password. I used the "Forgot password" link to create a new password, and it required a stronger password than previously required. Apparently there's been an unannounced change to increase password security, possibly due to a software update. Those with stronger passwords already would not be affected of course. A notice on the login page would have been nice...
     
  5. rvvaquero

    rvvaquero SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Wanderer
    Nope, that's not it. I just logged in with no problems. My password is 1234.
     
  6. Howard Simmons

    Howard Simmons SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Posts:
    190
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Northwest Florida
    Looks to me he's got a problem with his browser or computer.
     
  7. brejust

    brejust Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Posts:
    281
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    :) life
    I had to make a new password and then add a special character also now i can log in. However that special character seems to be a requirement. hmm.
     
  8. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    948
    Likes Received:
    995
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    Yep, that and an upper case character were the new requirements that I saw. Oh, and an 8+ character count, but I don't know if that was new or not.
     
  9. DishGuyTX

    DishGuyTX Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    TX
    There was a recent change that now requires you to include a special character.
     
    NYDutch likes this.
  10. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    948
    Likes Received:
    995
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    The upper case requirement must be new as well, since my old password was all lower case but the new one required mixed case plus the special character.
     
  11. joewhite57

    joewhite57 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    166
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Indiana
    Not surprising. I only have a few accounts requiring just 8 characters without upper case and special characters. I have one requiring 13 characters(passphrase).
     
  12. renegade734

    renegade734 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Posts:
    416
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    That’s the exact same combination as my luggage!
     
  13. crodrules

    crodrules SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,225
    Likes Received:
    3,027
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Okay, how many people have hacked into rvvaquero's account since this post? :biggrin
     
  14. rvvaquero

    rvvaquero SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Wanderer
    I resent that. Do you really think I'm that stupid? I changed it right after I posted to "password".
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...