WHAT is better Coolsat,3500s or Viewsat vs2000

Status
Please reply by conversation.

pcman

Original poster
Oct 17, 2005
I'm new to the FTA I have a 8' BUD and Older Toshiba trx2200 C-band system.
I also have a Direct TV dish hooked up but don't use the service anymore.
Can I use this same dish and ?
WHAT is better reciver.
Coolsat 4000 pro or Pansat 3500s or Viewsat vs2000 platinum.
They are all about the same price but the Viewsat is faster/3500s has componet and the coolsat is suppose to be easier and more popular ?

I seen a deal for a coolsat+reader 36" dish/LNB and mover for $339.
But I heard good things about the 3500 and viewsat(faster more memory) ?

I need help before I spend $ and this site looks like the best place to ask for it.

Thanks

I would recommend either the Coolsat or the Pansat

Viewsat doesn’t have blind scan, which is a feature that I feel all receivers should have. You hit one button and it scans and finds all the unknown frequencies.

The Pansat has AC-3 output for the PBS stations (but the think the Coolsat has a way to get Ac-3)

thanks for the reponse
I thought the viewsat had a type of "blindscan" ?

Its just has TP. scan, it has no way to find new channels other than downloading someone elses list!

TP is short for transponder ?
Sorry I'm a newbie to the FTA MPEG stuff

Of those three, I'd choose the Coolsat if you don't need the polarotor control.

I sold my Coolsat to get the Pansat 3500s that I'm using now. If I didn't need the polarotor control I'd be tracking down another Coolsat right now.

I found the Coolsat to have a more refined feel to it. It seemed like there was more effort put into the interface on the Coolsat. It wasn't perfect. It had it's own quirks (AC3 support is kind of manual) but I liked operating it much better than operating the Pansat.