Why aren't all hi-def channels filling up TV screen?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Arkapigdiesel

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Sep 20, 2008
Northwest Arkansas
Is it normal? Some hi-def channels fill up the screen, and some don't. It's driving me bonkers. I look at it this way....I bought this big arse hi-def tv so I can watch shows in full screen, and in hi-def fashion. I'm a newb to hi-def, so I'm trying to learn all of this. Thanks in advance for any advice given.

With 16:9 programming it should fill the screen. Some movies have aspect ratios greater than this and they will be letterboxed. Much of the programming material is produced for 4:3 displays and this will be pillarboxed. Some channels (TNT, A&E, etc.) will stretch it instead, which will fill the screen but distorts the picture. More and more programming is being produced in 16:9 format so the problem will hopefully correct itself eventually.

The majority of your Network prime time programming is in HD, but still NOT all.
To confuse things even more, you can have 4:3 HD as well.

Jimbo

Also, not all shows on an HD channel are HD. You can tell by the guide listing, where it will say "HD" in the box if it's an actual HD show. That or you can use the info key to check.

Sonydude might have hit the point that is confusing you. Just because it's an "HD" channel doesn't mean the program is being broadcast in HD. There are a number of "HD" channels that show little to no HD programming.

If you post some examples, people might be able to give more specific feedback.