Will B U D pick up better ku signals

Status
Please reply by conversation.

smudge

Original poster
Oct 15, 2008
I'm a super newbie with a question. I have an 8' mesh B U D w/a 30volt acuator I understand this can be fitted w/a ku lnbf and if I change the actuator to a 36 volt one it can be driven through a converter box from diseq 1.2 commands from a set top box. I plan on getting one w/ blind scan feature. Will this setup be as functional as a new 3 meter dish and motor setup. The cost to do either setup would be about the same. Will the B U D give me better reception or am I waisting my time and would I be better off scrapping out the B U D. Any light anyone can shed on me will be greatly appreciated.

smudge

I'm a super newbie with a question. I have an 8' mesh B U D w/a 30volt acuator I understand this can be fitted w/a ku lnbf and if I change the actuator to a 36 volt one it can be driven through a converter box from diseq 1.2 commands from a set top box. I plan on getting one w/ blind scan feature. Will this setup be as functional as a new 3 meter dish and motor setup. The cost to do either setup would be about the same. Will the B U D give me better reception or am I waisting my time and would I be better off scrapping out the B U D. Any light anyone can shed on me will be greatly appreciated.

smudge

Are you trying to compare a retrofit of a 8' dish to one of the 3' smaller dishes/motor setups (or do you truly mean a "new 3 meter dish and motor setup").