Status
Please reply by conversation.

DavidBodner

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jan 24, 2006
Manlius, NY
Hi -

I'm brand new here, albeit at 66 not new in general ;-)

A lot of years experience with electronics, and tv antennas and systems specifically (would you believe 50+!). And just installed a Off-The-Air HDTV, antenna, etc at my place 3 years ago. Works great.

But I have no experience with satellite TV. This spring I will be putting in a Ku FTA system at my inlaws (they have a good shot at the satellite belt; I don't). They have only traditional analog tv with no current plans to update to HDTV.

I will be posting somewhere on here to run my tentative design picks on equipment, etc past you pros. My technical background is very good, but not specifically in satellite tv - so the nomenclature, etc has me a little confused. But, I promise, I will be a quick learner.

Talked with a nice lady at Skyvision yesterday and she cleared up some of my confusion. The digital MPEG thing bothered me, in that we'll be feeding into an analog NTSC receiver. Now I understand that the digital is between the LNB and the MPEG receiver, and that the receiver's output to the NTSC tv set is indeed analog.

I will be checking with you all about many things. As a starter, I'm trying to figure out whether to get the RG6 from Skyvision or just get the lowest loss stuff locally. What I need to know is what is the frequency spectrum of the digital bit stream between the LNB and the MPEG receiver? That way I can make an Engineering judgement whether the 100 feet of RG6 I'll have has acceptable loss.

I think this will be a very interesting forum for me, and be a great learning experience.

Regards,
Dave

David Bodner
Manlius, NY -
Atop Limestone Gorge,
on the edge of forever.

Welcome to the SatelliteGuys.US FTA forum!

Get the best RG6 you can afford, quad shield if available, I use solid copper core 2.2GHz cable and never had a problem.