Will the H20 remote (RC24) send commands to an aftermarket remote?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

device manager

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Feb 13, 2006
West TX
I have a Home Theater Master MX-500 remote that I am trying to program to operate a DirecTV H20 HD receiver. There doesn't seem to be a 3 digit code for the H20/RC24, nor do they send out commands when you try the learn function on the MX-500. I have the H20 set to IR mode, and I currently have the MX-500 operating a Plasma TV, dvd, receiver, and a vcr. Is the only option to get a different DirecTV receiver? I know my old Hughes HTL-HD receiver allowed me to use the MX-500 to control it.

I found the answer. :)

You need to go into the menu of the H20 to change it from RF to IR. To turn on the IR of the remote:

1. DTV
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT for two blinks
3. enter 9-6-1
4. press CH DOWN

You do the steps in my previous post in order to allow the RC24 to send commands so that the MX-500, or other universal IR remote, can learn them.

device manager said:
You do the steps in my previous post in order to allow the RC24 to send commands so that the MX-500, or other universal IR remote, can learn them.

Yup. I have an MX-500. It works great with the H20.

I just bought an LG LCD TV, however the DirecTV remote that came with my H20 will Not operate the TV. There is only 1 code listed under LG and it doesn't work. I also tried to program the LG remote, however the owners manual does NOT list a code for DirecTv. Any help would be greatly appreicate it.

mac1 said:
I just bought an LG LCD TV, however the DirecTV remote that came with my H20 will Not operate the TV. There is only 1 code listed under LG and it doesn't work. I also tried to program the LG remote, however the owners manual does NOT list a code for DirecTv. Any help would be greatly appreicate it.

try code 10178.