YouTube

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by .Andy, Oct 12, 2016.

  1. jackson85

    jackson85 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Robinson, Illinois, United States
    At least with the VEVO app with the Hopper 3, it will play the video and it reloads and will play part of that video over and over again. I have VEVO on my Amazon Fire TV, and it will not do this. I am not sure what youtube will do as an app on the Hopper 3, but if it is like VEVO, I will just continue to do YouTube/VEVO on my Fire TV streamer.
     
  2. bluegras

    bluegras SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    1,011
    when you try to play the youtube app on my 4k tv the sound is fine on my tv but when you try to stream and you using bluetooth 5.1 vizio is needs to be worked on getting the sound right.
     
  3. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies! Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    97,739
    Likes Received:
    14,027
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    I dont believe (and could be wrong) that anything is 5.1 on Youtube. Remember these are member submitted videos the video and audio quality is dependant on the folks who make and produce the videos.
     
  4. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,813
    Likes Received:
    10,247
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    I already posted this somewhere, but YouTube does not support 5.1 sound. I tested it on my Roku and my Apple TV first, using supposed 5.1 test videos and they were stereo only. Further research showed YouTube's lack of support...
     
  5. Hall

    Hall SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Posts:
    18,409
    Likes Received:
    3,194
    Location:
    Germantown OH
    Some could, as impractical as it seems to me, be uploaded with 5.1 audio but YouTube could down-sample it to 2-channel automatically (and with no choice by the uploader).
     
  6. bluegras

    bluegras SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    1,011
    the camcorder that i use is a sony 1080p hd and does not record in 5.1 that i use to record car shows,cruise nights and bands also the 4k camcorder i am looking at for next year shoots 2160p and 5.1 surround sound.i am constanley uploading videos to youtube all the time. i was just wondering about if the youtube app if it does 5.1 i did not know just wondering about that.
     
    Bobby likes this.
  7. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,813
    Likes Received:
    10,247
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Allen, are you reading anything that is being posted by others, myself included? YouTube does not support 5.1, period...
     
  8. rdale

    rdale SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    320
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan, United States
    I can't seem to find a way to view a live channel on YT, like NASA TV, that I can on Roku. Is it just me?
     
  9. Dirtydan

    Dirtydan SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    Susanville,Ca.
    Will this ever be activated on Joeys?
     
  10. bluegras

    bluegras SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    1,011
    i think it will be added in the future to the joeys and the HWS
     
  11. ChadT41

    ChadT41 THE BEST THERE HAS EVER BEEN

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Posts:
    10,407
    Likes Received:
    3,866
    Location:
    Mesa, Az
  12. skyviewmark

    skyviewmark SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Bay Minette, Al
    Right after they give us Netflix on the 4K Joey. Or "Soon" whichever comes first
     
    docdaddy likes this.
  13. Dirtydan

    Dirtydan SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    Susanville,Ca.
    My better half is upset that she has no PIP on the 4k, since I told her it was stated by Dish it would be added. I wonder if it will ever be activated...
     
  14. ChadT41

    ChadT41 THE BEST THERE HAS EVER BEEN

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Posts:
    10,407
    Likes Received:
    3,866
    Location:
    Mesa, Az
    According to Scott... no there are no further plans.
     
  15. docdaddy

    docdaddy SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Posts:
    393
    Likes Received:
    222
    Location:
    Orange City, IA
    The day they announce no plans for Netflix on the 4K Joey is the day I get rid of them and move back to non-4K Joeys. Not sure how much longer to wait.
     
  16. DWS44

    DWS44 SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Posts:
    6,506
    Likes Received:
    3,591
    Location:
    Rock Hill, SC
    They are still trying to get Netflix on the 4K Joey...they are just stuck waiting on Netflix to certify the app before they can make it available, according to reports. Chad's comment on "no further plans" was in regard to PIP.
     
  17. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies! Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    97,739
    Likes Received:
    14,027
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    Nope.


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  18. ChadT41

    ChadT41 THE BEST THERE HAS EVER BEEN

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Posts:
    10,407
    Likes Received:
    3,866
    Location:
    Mesa, Az
    I can confirm my comment was about PIP
     
  19. scottk52

    scottk52 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    32
    Hey guys - I can only get the YouTube App to output 1080i - love to see at least 1080p. Any help? I'm glad the app has arrived, it seems to work well and we watch a lot of YouTube, so nice to have it baked into the box! Thanks DISH!
     
  20. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,813
    Likes Received:
    10,247
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    You will not see 1080P except on PPV Movies and then it is only on selected movies. That's how it works....
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...