4K install and equipment question

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by cpd5215, Apr 10, 2018.

  1. I WANT MORE

    I WANT MORE SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Posts:
    322
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    "Middle of Nowhere"
    Hell yes. Get the 54 and c61k.
    Don't listen to the lack of content for 4k.
    I've been hearing that nonsense for 2 years all of the while enjoying the GREAT programming offered by D*
    Hopefully you have already said yes. If not, get on it!
     
  2. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    59,101
    Likes Received:
    2,054
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Unfortunately, if he didn't take it, chances of them giving that deal again are slim.
     
  3. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Sorry for the delayed response. I forgot to let you guys know I took that deal. Install this coming Monday. I am super excited. Thanks for all your advice. I really appreciate it!
     
  4. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Install went great today, no issues...HR54, C61k install on 4K tv. Quick Q...When I change channels from any two non 4K channels, it seems to be slower than when I had the HR44 installed on this tv...Is this normal? Same thing happens when I switch from 4K channel to non 4K channel...
     
  5. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,486
    Likes Received:
    7,831
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Try changing the resolution on your tv to native if it isn't now.
     
  6. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Are u speaking of the Directv menu under video. I had that set to native.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,486
    Likes Received:
    7,831
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Yes. Sorry, I didn't phrase that very well!
     
  8. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    No problem...With that said, is it your experience then that it should not take abnormally long between channel changes?
     
  9. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,486
    Likes Received:
    7,831
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    I don't have 4k service, so I can't speak to it. Hopefully someone else will post about it.
     
  10. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Gotcha. Thx


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    raoul5788 likes this.
  11. I WANT MORE

    I WANT MORE SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Posts:
    322
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    "Middle of Nowhere"
    Yes, it can take a few seconds to change channels.
    Your display has to negotiate the resolution change.
    Perfectly normal.
     
  12. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    I understand. But in my current situation it appears that “negotiation” takes much longer than it did w the HR44. In addition the screen actually goes completely black w no channel banner at the top as if it is looking for a signal, rather than simply changing channels


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. robjlevin

    robjlevin SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    548
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Going from HD to 4K is going to take longer. On my Samsung it can take 8-10 seconds for the picture to pop on even though the audio is immediate. Takes just a tad less on a newer LG.

    So, yes...it's perfectly normal.
     
    I WANT MORE likes this.
  14. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Gotcha....But why the delay going from non4K to non4K....A total black screen while the channel is changing? I see a lot of complaints on ATT forum about this issue after people upgraded 4K equip.
     
  15. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,638
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    Md
    most likely the new software is also slowing things down
    it has a few issues
     
  16. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Gotcha....Just wanted to make sure there was nothing going on on my end.... Thanks for the help. I appreciate it!
     
  17. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    903
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    And as I stated earlier, the C61K has various issues like this ...

    So I'm not really surprised ...

    Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk
     
    cpd5215 likes this.
  18. Starflyr

    Starflyr Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynnwood, Washington
    I am interested in upgrading my current satellites service to 4K. I currently have the XTRA package. [/QUOTE]

    I too bought the LG Oled 65 and switched to DTV at the same time. Can't help you out on what equipment to get. I was told the setup included the latest gear. Personally, I thing DTV's 4K service sucks unless you want to watch 4K rental movies. AFAIK, the only other DTV 4K channel is 106 with spotty service. I almost never watch it. LG's apps (NetFlix, Amazon Prime and youtube) provide a lot of 4K service via streaming. I'm getting that service via ethernet from my provider and to my tired 79 year eyes, it generally looks great. I also added the Apple 4K ATV which also has a lot of 4K options, again steamed.

    IMHO, the picture on the LG Oled looks great on almost every channel. I'm told it converts HD to near 4K video. Don't know if that true, but it looks good to me.

    I'm paying somewhere around $11 for 4K service on NetFlix and the standard Amazon Prime $99 annual fee.

    I read that DTV is putting up new birds with greater bandwidth ability in the near future so maybe we'll see more 4K service from their satellites soon. One of the most annoying things about DTV's 4K service on channel 106 is the "pop" like it's changing gears to 4K mode.
     
  19. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    59,101
    Likes Received:
    2,054
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    I too bought the LG Oled 65 and switched to DTV at the same time. Can't help you out on what equipment to get. I was told the setup included the latest gear. Personally, I thing DTV's 4K service sucks unless you want to watch 4K rental movies. AFAIK, the only other DTV 4K channel is 106 with spotty service. I almost never watch it. LG's apps (NetFlix, Amazon Prime and youtube) provide a lot of 4K service via streaming. I'm getting that service via ethernet from my provider and to my tired 79 year eyes, it generally looks great. I also added the Apple 4K ATV which also has a lot of 4K options, again steamed.

    IMHO, the picture on the LG Oled looks great on almost every channel. I'm told it converts HD to near 4K video. Don't know if that true, but it looks good to me.

    I'm paying somewhere around $11 for 4K service on NetFlix and the standard Amazon Prime $99 annual fee.

    I read that DTV is putting up new birds with greater bandwidth ability in the near future so maybe we'll see more 4K service from their satellites soon. One of the most annoying things about DTV's 4K service on channel 106 is the "pop" like it's changing gears to 4K mode.[/QUOTE]
    D* is the only game in town as far as Cable/ Sat delivered 4k, so if it suxs, its bettewr than what the rest has, which is NOTHING ...

    You all can talk about Netflix and 4k all you want, but your not looking at like products.
     
  20. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,124
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    D* is the only game in town as far as Cable/ Sat delivered 4k, so if it suxs, its bettewr than what the rest has, which is NOTHING ...

    You all can talk about Netflix and 4k all you want, but your not looking at like products.[/QUOTE]

    You might want to check before making those statements. Dish has much of the same special event 4k sports programming that directv does.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...