8PSK signals and their strength vs. a bad reciever

Status
Please reply by conversation.

egg2004

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Mar 17, 2009
Indiana, Pa

I am having issues the 8psk on my pansat 9500HD? I have a 4dtv as my master and a 9200 HD pansat as a slave. On Galaxy 16 for example, I get signal strenghts up 88, but yet I am unable to pull in any 8psk at all. In fact, no signal shows up when i attempt to search for 8psk channels or if i manually enter the TP/channel. My pansat 9200HD has a 8psk kit installed, but I have never been able to pick anythning up with it. I think that its faulty and was thinking of buying a new receiever or a new 8psk board, but before doing so I wanted to get some sort of feed back.
Here is some info:
I have a 8 foot black mesh dish.
I have a 4DTV as my master and the 9500HD pansat as a slave. Both recievers work fine (except for the issue with the 8psk on the 9500HD).
When I bought the 9500HD reciever the 8psk card was already installed. I have removed the card and reinstalled it several times, and that made no difference. I can pick up other SD channels just fine.
I have a co-rotor II c/ku band feed horn (in good working order)

How hard is it to pick up 8psk signals?
Is there anyway to know that the reciever is actually picking them up, but there just isnt a good enough signal to fully pull in a good picture? In otherwords, is there any way to tell if the card itself is bad?
Just out of curiosity, would a 6 fook dish be able pull in 8psk signals at all? I have a 8ft, but I was thinking about getting another 6ft.
Any and all info is appreciated.
Thank you in advance.