A Coolsat 8000HD Review

Status
Please reply by conversation.

crawfrdb

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jun 5, 2006
Well folks, here are my first impressions of my new Coolsat 8000HD receiver arrived today by FedEx from sat-sales.com.
UPDATE: I'm adding a description of the my setup and cables used between components.

I've never used a Coolsat brand receiver before and this was a very poor first impression. I can only hope this is not their best work and that their other receivers enjoy a good following.
Any comments and input appreciated.
Thanks.

There are a lot of problems with this unit out of the box.
In this post:
1. Summary of initial issues/observations
2. Detail of the issues
3. Detail of the menus of the unit

Summary of issues
-----------------
1. The free DiSeqC switch cited in the dealer's order page was missing in the
shipment.
2. No documentation whatsoever is included in the unit.
3. Loose screw inside unit (easy fix).
4. Satellite antenna input port includes label "DVB-S2" !!!
5. No clear way to switch between ATSC and DVB tuner.
6. VSB, QAM64 and QAM256 are the only modulation types that can be selected
anywhere (no mention of QPSK or 8PSK). See the menu detail below.
7. No USB port exists on the receiver as stated on the order page.
8. A scan of the US UHF TV broadcast band found no ATSC channels.

Detail of the issues
--------------------

My setup (not high end but it all works):
A Sony KV34 Digital TV
34" 16:9 Widescreen Tube
Inputs:
DVI
Component
S-Video
Composite
S/PDIF (fiber optic audio)
Conventional RCA R/L

Samsung HT-DB600
Integrated DVD Surround Sound Receiver
Outputs:
Component
S-Video
Composite
S/PDIF
Conventional RCA R/L
Inputs:
Component (for passthru to the outputs)

Motorola HDT100
ATSC Digital TV Tuner
Outputs:
Component
S-Video
Composite
S/PDIF
Conventional RCA R/L

Connections used:
HDMI->DVI connection between 8000HD and TV
S/PDIF fiber optic audio between 8000HD and HT-DB600
Conventional RCA R/L between 8000HD and TV