Alexa with Dish Question (Speaker?)

Discussion in 'Computers and Gadgets' started by Modwild, Jul 10, 2017.

  1. Modwild

    Modwild Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've searched the forums and didn't find this to be a question that was answered, but it won't be a surprise if you all immediately point me to a thread I missed, so I'm apologizing in advance. You're the experts. Ask me about TV content, and I'll be the expert. :)

    It's Prime Day and the Alexa bits are on sale with an extra percentage off for CC holders. My question is this: If I get an Echo and sync up to my Hopper 3 can I also hear the TV from it? I realize it will be hard when I'm babbling forward rewind and such, but I'm still asking.

    If not, can I use the Echo as a bluetooth Dish speaker without connecting it to the new Dish dealio? (No, that's not the best audio, but I live in a teeny room.)

    I'm just trying to determine my options for the Echo in addition to what I have already read before purchasing. Thanks so much!!!
     
    #1 Modwild, Jul 10, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2017
  2. *** WELCOME TO SATELLITEGUYS! ***
  3. bmetelsky

    bmetelsky SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    Elyria, OH USA
    No, it cannot be connected as a speaker.
     
  4. Modwild

    Modwild Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well, that is a bummer. I guess I can use it with other things if I decide to take the plunge. Thanks so much for your answer!!
     
  5. ewindowman

    ewindowman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Posts:
    405
    Likes Received:
    237
    Just bought a echo for 89..99 . Pretty good deal . The dots are 34.99 I might get one of them also .
     
  6. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    94,841
    Likes Received:
    9,383
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    While I have not done it, it appears it can be done.

    You need to pair the Hopper with the Alexa Device.

    How to Use Your Amazon Echo as a Bluetooth Speaker

    On the Hopper go to Menu, Press Menu again, go to settings select Bluetooth and then follow the prompts.

    You can also pair wireless headphones or sound bars to the Hopper as well.

    Not sure how well it works, but it does look like it is possible.
     
    TheKrell, k.r. and KE4EST like this.
  7. Yoda_One

    Yoda_One Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Florida
    Yes it works. I use the BT and the Disk skill with the Hopper. My hope the build an interface for the Joey.
     
  8. Tampa8

    Tampa8 I'll Stand Up and Say So
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    14,292
    Likes Received:
    3,928
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    Sure it can. The Echo can act as a Bluetooth speaker to play music or whatever from another source. I have had my cell phone send music to the Echo, read texts etc..
     
  9. bmetelsky

    bmetelsky SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    Elyria, OH USA
    Are you saying that the echo can connect as a speaker and that at the same time you can also use commands to the echo to control the Hopper 3?
    I have used mine to control the Hopper 3 but did not think it could be connected as a speaker at the same time. If this is the case, then I am wrong in my initial reply.
     
  10. Yoda_One

    Yoda_One Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Florida
    Yes
     
    Tampa8 likes this.
  11. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    2,068
    Likes Received:
    1,374
    Location:
    MO/KS
    I can't get my Hopper to "see" any of my bluetooth devices, let alone my Echo. I don't know if it's a glitch or what, but when I click "find devices" in the Bluetooth menu on the H3, it doesn't find anything
     
  12. Foxbat

    Foxbat Addicted to new HW
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    10,234
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    Location:
    Michiana
    I had an issue with my Sony Bluetooth speaker that turned out to be too many pairings on the speaker. I had to reset the speaker before my Hopper would see it.

    Has it ever seen any Bluetooth devices? I would also try disabling Bluetooth and turning it back on. Then there's always Dish's answer to all technical woes, unplugging the Hopper, waiting 15-30 seconds, and plugging it back in.
     



***

Separate names with a comma.

More...